Happy International Woman’s Day

This post I write for my beautiful daughter T. This is her

Today the world celebrates International Woman’s Day. You’ll grow up in a world where a notion like this is amazing and confusing. Why would women need to be celebrated? Why would they need to have a day that recognises them? Surely we’re living in a world where this is happening already?

The sad reality is you don’t. You live in a world where women today are on par with men in many ways, but they still struggle in others. You’ll grow up in a world where you will believe you are equal and able to achieve in the same way any other person is able to. And for this I hope you have every opportunity to succeed. So here’s where you should always get your inspiration from.

Your mother, Sandy. She’s a strong willed person who speaks her mind freely. I have no doubt you will inherit this from her, and it will hold you in good stead. She likes to have a plan and make sure we don’t forget important events. I’m hopeless at this, so please learn this skill, and learn it well. She’s got a great dress sense, and very fashionable. This is a blessing for me, cos I really couldn’t care less. She’s already made sure you look good for photo shoots, so this will be an easy one for you to learn. She loves her brothers and will fight their corner every time. I hope you grow to have the same feelings to your brothers. If they turn out like me, they’ll need you to guide them! And she has a great financial mind on her. Thank God too. Me, I’m no good with this stuff. I’ll be making you and your brothers learn this stuff daily from her.

Your grandmother, Dadiji. She’s the most helpful person I know. Coupled with doing anything for her family, she will go out of her way to maintain and cultivate relationships. This is an amazing ability and I hope you learn this from her. It will be something you are remembered for long after your years and you will have a good soul because of it. She likes to go on holiday and see the world. I’ll be doing this with you too, but I hope you will see from her that you shouldn’t be afraid to try anything new.

You are Sikh. Our religion teaches us some wonderful human qualities that you should always keep dear to you. Guru Nanak Dev ji taught us three core principles we should always stick to: naam japna – always remember God’s name; wand ke shakna – share what you have with others in every way; kirat karna – live a good life and work in a positive way. We have many great heroes and heroines in our history, whose stories I will share with you time and again.

And take inspiration from yourself. You are so young and so innocent to the world, that right now no-one knows what the future holds for you. But tomorrow, when you are your own person, look inside yourself and find the answers you are looking for. Talk to me, talk to your mum, talk to your brothers. We’ll always be there waiting to help you.

Happy International Woman’s Day T.

About Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development in the workforce. One blog is about that. The other is about tennis. View all posts by Sukh Pabial

5 responses to “Happy International Woman’s Day

  • Bina Briggs

    I don’t have to say anything as you’ve said it all. Thank you.

  • Alison Chisnell

    What a lovely post Sukh, truly inspiring and beautiful. Thank you for sharing it.

  • onatrainagain

    What a beautiful post. I don’t like to think of my daughter becoming a woman, it scares me. For now, I’ll grasp onto the remainder of her childhood days. I hope my daughter becomes a strong and independent woman, just like her mum :)

  • TinyBean

    What a beautiful post. T is lucky to have a dad who can share his hopes and dreams as well as his observations of his loved ones in such a tender way.
    Bless you.

  • Sukh Pabial

    @ Bina, thanks so much for visiting and reading.

    @ Alison, thank you so much! It felt like a nice way to celebrate #iwd

    @ onatrainagain, Hi! Thanks for visiting and commenting. I know I can’t imagine T all grown up either. For now, I’m happy keeping her in a shell :)

    @ TinyBean, and thanks to you also for visiting and commenting. She might be lucky I’m around, but I can say with no hesitation, I am more lucky I have her around :)

Say something...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,339 other followers

