Is being healthy, healthy?

I’ve been reflecting lately about how healthy I am.

I’m hardly unhealthy, but I’m certainly concerned about how healthy I am.

It’s almost akin to asking myself how normal I am. And we all know what a fallacy that question and that terminology is.

So I consider the various things I have going on in my life.

I’m doing ok at work. It’s hard to know how well I’m doing, regardless of the feedback I’m getting (both constructive and positive). That’s more to do with my own standards and my own stamp on things. I want to achieve things in a certain way, I have thoughts about the direction I’m travelling, and there’s a journey to go on with all jobs. Life is good, work is engaging and there’s a fair share of good outcomes and good challenges.

My career is important to me, and I’m managing it as best I can. I’ve achieved some pretty cool things thus far and I’ve got more to do. Professionally, I’d like to further my studies in positive psychology, and there’s a whole list of unticked boxes about external validation that I’m starting to crave. Oh the sweet, sweet lure of an award. A meaningless bit of recognition that offers a beautiful stick in the shape of an achievement.

The blog is going quite nicely. It gives me an outlet for various thoughts and a forced focus for clarity and articulation. Writing regularly is not easy, but it is good fun.

My family are doing as well as can be. Thankfully we’re all well. The kids are learning lots of useful things at school, they’re having all sorts of arguments with each other, and at the same time playing well and testing boundaries. My wife is getting on very well in a her role and developing a great set of skills.

I’m mentally well – or at least I think I am. It’s something I’ve become massively mindful of. My own thoughts and what they’re telling me, my behaviours and how they reflect what I want, my language and how I talk with others, and the busy-ness in my head and where it takes me. That regulation is important, and that reflection helps me understand myself better.

Financially, I’m always learning. Commitments are being met, challenges are abound, and opportunities are not being sought clearly enough. Life is good, and I am only improving what I know about personal finances, as well as having better understanding of current affairs and the impact of a down economy on everyday life.

I’m physically in a good place. I started going to the gym in October, and go at least 2-3 times a week. I’m enjoying it, and can feel and see improvements. Whether this continues beyond the year I’m contracted to is another matter though.

Spiritually and religiously life is growing. I don’t believe I’ll ever be a strongly religious person in terms of practise, but I will be the best Sikh I can in the absence of becoming a practising Sikh.

I have a good set of friends, and am keenly aware in recent months my time with them is not as much as I’d have liked – but that’s the way it is sometimes.

I take time out to just do nothing and allow myself to just be, without being mindful, without being considerate, without achieving something, without expectation on myself.

All sounds fine and dandy doesn’t it? And in truth, it is.

I’m no different to anyone else. I have my ups and I have my downs. Life is good on some days and downright miserable on others. I make of life what I choose, and only I am responsible for how I live my life. When things are good, I enjoy those moments. When things are not, I fight to not problem-solve and just let them be. I am a good version of me, and of this I am proud.

What’s going on with you?

One comment

Say something...

