>Funny observations

>Over the weekend the wife and I were in the car and talking about how the kids are learning so many things right now and how it’s all quite funny. What I started to particularly laugh at though was how we describe the things the kids do and what we attribute those things to.

So the kids are nearly three years old. In case you’ve missed the many times I’ve mentioned this they’re twin boys. A is 7 minutes older than K which I’m sure will have great significance in later life. Particularly seeing in Indian culture, you are meant to pay undue respect to your elders. When A learns of this I’m sure he’ll have great fun with it.

They’re currently learning how to use the bathroom. Mrs P described how they are both really doing well cos they can go “wee-wee” all by themselves. I stopped to think – how often do I describe that activity in that way? I DON’T! I then went on to say, “it’s only a matter of time before they know how to do poo-poo too”!! I’m killing myself with the sheer madness and joy of both those sentences!! If my friends or anyone over the age of 13 said anything like that I would have a field day making a mockery of them and here we are, two grown adults discussing activities of our children using words that we would never ordinarily use in everyday parlance! The irony of this against my last post has not escaped me.

Then other things sprang to mind. K has learned to drop his voice to a bare whisper when he wants you to know he’s really upset about something. I have no idea how he learned that. I’m constantly shouting at them and Mrs P never talks softly to them. A has learned to not look at me if he’s being told off and will do this eye blinking thing which is hilarious. And they both know that if they’re bored with what they’re watching – even if they’ve asked to watch it, off goes power.

And even conversations become common-place. How much did they have for dinner? Is it time for them to have yoghurt? Have they watched mickey mouse clubhouse today? Did they do any painting today? On being told by one of them that he got “beats” by his brother – “A, did you give your brother beats?” “Yem” LOL! It’s crazy. Absolutely crazy.

Then we attribute these things to the TV. My argument is that’s only part of it. Most of what they learn comes from us directly no matter how much we may think or believe otherwise. History has taught us that the way children develop is hugely dependent on the environment they are in and how that influences us. Do a google search on ‘bobo doll experiment’ or ‘Bandura’ for more about this.

And they’re so observant. If I’ve taken something away from them, think I’ve hidden it, they’ll find it and hide it themselves. I have since lost a number of DVDs and have had no luck in finding these. I naturally attribute that to my finely honed observation skills. Trained in the fine art of not a lot, I’m a master at doing that too. Not these two though, they’ve been trained by the guru of doing an awful lot and have followed in that mould. I am thankful I have instilled in them my trait of being transfixed by the TV when your show is on. Balance is maintained in the house.

And we’ve got sprogg #3 due literally in days. And we’ll go through all this again. And these will be normal conversations. And we’ll be none the wiser that we’re talking complete rubbish!!

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

