>What have I achieved?

>Hi all. So as those of you who either follow me on Twitter or know me personally will know, I (I mean my wife but you know) recently had a baby girl. She’s doing very well and is a wonderful addition to the family. I now have a complete family and this makes me very happy. It also makes me reflect on what’s been happening in my life, what’s currently happening and what is due to happen. Kinda like getting a visit from the 3 ghosts in ‘A Christmas Carol’ but not. Anyway I digress.

Where have I got to? Well in the last 5 years a lot has happened. I got married to Mrs P. We had our twin boys A&K. I have a job, which, for the moment, is secure and not going anywhere. The job also helps keep my family in a secure place for at least the next few years. And now we have our baby girl. And all this by the age of 31 (soon to be 32 I might add).

Whats happening right now? Well a lot of stuff. I have good friends in Jim, Joe and Jerry. This makes me particularly glad because at one point I was at a point where the friendships could have gone dry. This didn’t happen. Mostly because I was given some stern words. And for that I’m grateful.

There’s adjusting with the new family. Any change – no matter how good – means adapting. And this means that people have to accept change and adapt. That’s tough and even though people will be well meaning, it’s change all the same. The silver lining here is that people will have to talk more to understand more. For me, that’s positive.

And then there’s my family. This time at home has been really important for me with my twins. I only really have time with them either when I have time off or at the weekend. But I’ve been able to do a lot with them in this time off and that’s been invaluable. My wife went through a relatively good labour and although the pregnancy wasn’t all pleasant, the joy of the new baby has seen those ghosts laid to rest. I’m thankful to the Lord that I have my family.

And where’s this all headed? Well I have to consider the following things. First, am I being a good husband? That means a lot for the wellbeing of my family. I think I’m doing a good job for the most part. Next, am I being a good parent? This is key in ensuring I remain a positive and happy influence in my children’s lives. Third, am I being a good friend? This is important for my own sense of self and keeping good company. Fourth, am I being a good worker? If I am producing and delivering good work then work will continue to be a place where I can be positive and engaged. Fifth, am I being a good citizen? A community is only as good as the people living there. This will be a continued challenge that I will strive for. And last, am I being a good family member?

What I actually reflect on though is did I lay these plans out in advance 10 years ago? Even 5 years ago? Well, no if I’m honest. I had an idea in mind but no plan. And to be honest (a lot of that in this post) the next 5 years are heading the same way. I have an idea of what I’d like to achieve and for now that’ll do me.

But how does that fit in with achievement? Aren’t you supposed to plan and set SMART goals? Well of course you are. But to recognise what you want to achieve you have to take a look at what you have achieved. That’s what helps you plan for the future. Knowing what has happened so you can have a clear idea for what’s yet to come.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

