>I’m a dreamer

>In the world I live in, we are all capable of doing great things, birds are singing, children play happily and safely, work is meaningful and everything is rose tinted. So that’s an insight into my value set. Ok I’m being facetious, but you can see what I’m saying. But that’s how I think about the world. Which is also why I’m such a believer in positive psychology as I’ve mentioned so many times before.

In this rosy world I live in, I also believe in complete openness and transparency. Even down to revealing personal foibles. I’m not a negative person, and I don’t (well I try not to) judge others for any reason. And I’m not talking about diversity here, I’m talking just day to day stuff. A street beggar, the newspaper you read, the clothes you wear. I may take the piss, but I won’t judge you for it.
Anyway, back to this world of openness and transparency. There’s been many a time when I’ve thought to myself – am I too open? Do you need to know half of the things I talk about? And come on, I do talk a lot of shit. I know that, but is it ok? Actually the fundamental question is this:
Am I putting the sense of professionalism you may hold about me into question when I tweet completely non-work / non-industry related things?
A while back (June me thinks?) I posted a tweet asking should I have 2 separate accounts. One for personal ramblings, and one for the professional / industry / work related stuff?
You may think this is navel gazing stuff, and here’s why it is. I have no problem in being open with the world. Especially now that I engage in social media type stuff so much. And I’ve talked on blogs before about how your career is now open to the world to see, and most people will accept that to be the case. So I’m interested in your opinion on this:
Should I have a ‘professional’ me, a ‘personal’ me, or stick to what I have (or something else)?
Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

4 thoughts on “>I’m a dreamer”

  1. >yesterdays comment seems to have vanished so I'll try again…I like hearing about the 'professional' and 'personal' you but I expect the 'personal' that appears on here is different to the 'personal' that reads to your children at night, which seems appropriate.have you read Multiplicity by Rita Carter on how we all have multiple personalities we display under different circumtances. Parts of it ring really true and sometimes it goes a bit far but it's well worth a read.

  2. >One per entity.Your blog could have one, or your professional position could have one, but if they do not deserve their own or you do not wish to separate these personæ from the Sukhi we all know and love then stick with one.

  3. >@ TheHRD your response immediately struck a note with me and I agree with it wholeheartedly@ Stella thanks for recommending the book, I'll try find it and have a read. Thanks also for your comments.@ Lord they indeed do not deserve their own and I would only end up crossing boundaries with both. My thanks to you.

Say something...

