>Death to the CV!

>A few weeks back I met a Twitter friend Mervyn Dinnen for the first time and had a very good chat about all things social media, how we found ourselves using it, and about life in general. Mervyn’s at a point in his career where he’s trying something daring and I wanted to support this with a post of my own. He’s looking for his next career opportunity, and I don’t doubt that he’ll find something. You can read his dedicated blog to find out what he does and what he wants to do. I will tell you though about his methodology for finding this job.

He is doing it without any form of a CV at all. Instead he is using purely social media/networking tools to help him find a job.

A quick point, Mervyn is in a fortunate position that he can invest time in this experiment. I wish Mervyn the best of luck in doing this.

He’s calling it social recruiting. Makes sense. What I want to do is take a look at the idea of this and provide some of my thoughts. In effect, Mervyn is saying if a company is interested in him, he won’t send over a CV. He wants his blog, his Twitter account, his LinkedIn profile, all to be the source of information that any potential recruiter would need. And based on that, they can contact him for an interview.

What fascinates me about this, is the sheer challenge to conventional job seeking methods. The Employ Kyle campaign saw some innovative use of social media to promote himself. And there have been many people using YouTube to promote themselves. Recruiters in the world today (in-house as well as out-sourced) should take note of what’s happening in the world of social media, and learn quickly. I’ll make mention of one other recruiter I know on Twitter, Andy Headworth. Andy is an absolute advocate of social media, and puts a lot of time and effort into figuring out how the various tools can be best used. You should check out his site.

Coming back to Mervyn though, he’s got some real challenges that stand in his way:
1) Recruiters will insist on a CV – they will not understand how you can’t have one, why you haven’t got one, and what you possibly think to gain by not providing one.
2) Companies will put pressure on recruiters and on Mervyn for providing a CV – because they want the paper trail. They want the safeguard that says, “we choose to go no further because blah blah blah”.
3) Practically, people haven’t got time to engage with a candidate in this way – the beauty of what Mervyn is trying to promote here is, you have to visit his site, you have to read his tweets, you have to search him out on LinkedIn. That’s far too much time to invest in a time poor economy.
4) It’s just not the done thing – regardless of the ways social media is providing new ways of communicating and providing information, at risk of a cliche, the world just isn’t ready for things like this. Challenging recruiting conventions is almost as laughable as challenging airport security.
5) His approach will be classed as the latest social media fad/gimmick – companies haven’t got the time to indulge an approach like this. Social media? Just stick to email and phone thanks.

I am following Mervyn’s job hunt with interest. I hope either you do too, or are interested enough that you’ll pass on a recommendation for him.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

26 thoughts on “>Death to the CV!”

  1. >I've no doubt Mervyn, with his vast experience as a recruiter and high profile on twitter will find what he wants but my observation would be that as long as the likes of 'Employ Kyle' and individuals using youtube to promote themselves remain exceptions to the rule rather than the rule then fair enough, but imagine if everyone started making videos of themselves or going the 'Kyle' route. It would soon lose its novelty. It would also result in employers/recruiters everywhere having to sit through video after video or read countless blogs and Linkedin pages to find what they were after. As it stands, response levels are such that many can;t cope with them. How are they to find the extra time involved to engage with thousands of people via social media or to watch homemade youtube clips? In short, why change things? A CV provides a snapshot of an individual's career to date. it's a level playing field. The challenge is to present yourself on paper in a professional and eloquent way that makes you stand out from the crowd. It's also far less time consuming for the person doing the recruiting.I agree that in cases like Mervyn's that it's worth taking a punt via social media, but for thousands who don't enjoy the same level of recognition or don't have the same depth of experience as he does, I still think that the CV is very much alive and kicking and a more reliable route for the majority to take. in ten years time Kyle will be remembered for the novelty value and youtube and the like will be flooded with video profiles, but again the question will be, who's got the time to seek out and sit through them?

  2. >Very nice post Sukh.You are raising questions that are definately going to be challenging a few HR Directors this year and beyond.This whole subject is going to make many of them uncomfortable, as it is completely new territory. We started to see the changes before the recession, with Gen Y'ers effecting changes in recruitment processes. But the recession killed that and we went back to tradition again.Now the challenges are ready to be tested again, and what Mervyn is doing will hopefully be the start of slow seed change in recruitment.BUT there is a problem that still needs to be overcome. The majority of recruitment systems (ATS's) are simply not geared up to deal with applications via anything other than a CV. This needs to change before the whole social application can go mainstream. Andy

  3. >Andy, why fix what ain't broke? Plus, can you address the time consuming issues I raised above please? I used to regularly recruit creative and admin staff at a couple of the ad agencies I worked at and the thought of having to wade through endless youtube videos or try and engage with hundreds of people via social media would have given me a real headache. Much easier to spell out exactly what you want in an ad then filter some CVs in the course of an afternoon. As I say, if it ain't broke….let Gen Y adapt to the norm rather than try and change the practices of a whole industry.

  4. >The point is that it IS broken. CVs are great for recruiters and HR departments, but when it comes to hiring someone they are about as much use as Australian batsmen on a humid day.All a CV provides is a snapshot of how an individual wants to appear and, outside of a very few roles, being good at writing CVs is unlikely to be a central requirement to actually doing the job.Reliance on CVs is often the product of a reluctance to adapt on the part of HR personnel and an idleness on the part of the employer.To hire someone without doing basic checks on them within the social sphere is simply laziness in 2011 and, if that step is a necessity, then LinkedIn can provide the career history easily, which is basically the only part of a CV which is still valid in the digital era.Let's not make generation Y adapt to an outdated methodology, merely because generation X is too stayed to update its processes.

  5. >Again though Cetko, an approach like that only works if one, or at most, a handful of people are adopting it. Had those creative directors Googled themselves and had 100 similar results then again it becomes a dilemma of who the nest is out of those 100, no?The CV is a snapshot, yes. But it's a good starting point for filtering out people via their experience, skills sets and qualifications. There is no reason, just because we have the facility for people to film themselves and upload it or to write copious blogs about themselves that it makes it any more useful than good old fashioned human instinct, common sense and nous that can be employed in a face to face interview. It's also far less time consuming in a world where we are told that "there are millions of candidates, but the number of good ones that employers want to talk to is relatively small" and employers are already overwhelmed with dealing with the response they get to their ads.

  6. >Twenty years ago i was told about someone who posted a sheet of paper with the words `14 days to go` to the recruiter.The next day the recruiter received another sheet of paper `13 days to go` – and this carried on for the next two weeks.And on the last day, his CV arrived in the office.The position was to work in a creative role for an ad agency. Rest assured, he got the job!In 2003 I worked for a very large retail group as a trainer. The MD of that company had made numerous calls to the owner of the business to discuss working for him; but with no joy! The secretary blanked the calls on every occasion.But, our man was not being put off. He didn't believe in the CV, but believed in the power of a face to face meeting. However, he knew he had to get through to the man at the top. So he sent the following letter to him;1, Climber Everest2, Sailed around the world single handed3, Made ยฃ5m in three years4, My mobile number is 07XXX XXXXXXHe got the call and he got the job.We live in a world in which the difference that makes the difference is key. I absolutely believe in any attempt to secure a job, business deal or demonstration of love in a different, creative and passionate way. Good luck to Mervyn. It has to work – why should we assume that two sheets of A4 paper is the only way to get a job! Papyrus…paper…telephone…fax….email…appEvolution happens everywhere!

  7. >We shouldn't assume that 2 sheets of A4 is the only way, but the instances of people being 'different' are few and far between. If one person sat on top of an office block dressed as Batman with the message 'hire me' round their neck, that would be novel. If a thousand people did it, it would no longer be so. it's great to find a way of being different that leads to getting the job, but as in say, worldwide there are precious few examples of such ingenuity working.

  8. >Very interesting debate. I wanted to add a couple of comments from my very recent experience. I am on the job market for the first time in 17 years and so of course the first thing I needed to do was to update my CV. After some discussion with my outplacement consultant, watching my husband sift through dozens of very dull CVs (he is an employer, not a recruiter), and reading this blog (and others) providing advice, I decided that I wanted to do something different with my CV. I tried this and the feedback from my outplacement consultant was that whilst some recruiters/companies might like a different approach, some may think it's too "radical" and it may even turn prospective employers off…or worse, the recruiters may not look favourably on a candidate going against the grain and my CV wouldn't even make it to the employer! I liked the idea of doing something different because I wanted to stand out in the crowd but more importantly because I wanted to show some personality. I want prospective employers to know a bit about the type of person I am, my values etc. rather than having nothing more than a list of skills/achievements to go by. Seems though that a CV is not the place for 'personality' – shame!!A question, and not because I don't agree with using social media to recruit, just because I thought I'd ask it – if recruitment changed and became completely "social" would we be complaining about blogs and personal youtube videos in the same way in X number of years?

  9. >That's kind of my point Sarah. Once everyone starts blogging, making video profiles, beefing up their Linkedin profile, dressing up as supeheroes and the like, then it stops becoming novel or different and becomes the norm, except there is no 'norm' to compare i.e. no like for like that the Cv gives you instant access to. Have they got the skills and experience for the role? Can they present themselves well in a 2 sheet A4 paper format? How do they compare directly to this next CV I have in my hand? It's simple, less time consuming and makes the criteria clear. Once we start going down the sending a series of anonymous letters, juggling dogs outside the employers office window or stalking them on a social networking site route then not only does it have the potential to get weird, it also requires a hell of a lot more of an employers time to decide which 'different' is actually different and which is just plain mad. In short, I still say, why mess with what we've got?PS – I should make it clear that I do believe that social media works for many, many things i.e. promoting a service or a product or painting a favourable picture of a company as a potential employer, but I don't agree, when it comes to the application process that people saying the CV is dead and suggesting the novelty value approach is the way to go, is actually a positive thing long term, as once the world and their partner start doing it, it ceases to be different and becomes almost a crazy talent show.

  10. >Great post Sukh!I have an HR confession to make – I skim read CVs at extreme speed and don't find them that useful other than covering the basics of what an indivudal has done and where they have worked.I do recruit frequently and I am not put off by Merv's method – if he has a good precis of his experience in LinkedIn then genuinely that's good enough for me. What I think is a real strength of this approach is the level of clarity that the individuals give about what they are looking for in a role and an organisation. That makes it much easier for me as a recruiter to establish whether I have got any opportunities that will fit them and whether they will be a good fit for us.Things evolve. Let's remain open-minded and see how it turns out ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. >All, many thanks for your contributions to today's blog, this debate is clearly needed and I'm hoping I've sparked something for others to develop and provide more thought too.@ Alconcalcia, my utmost thanks that you have taken such an avid interest in this subject, and been so interactive. I agree with your point that a CV provides an easy format to sift through the hundreds. In a previous post I talked about if we still need a traditional CV. My point then, and is continued from today's post, is that the CV should only act as a point of reference. In fact I'd go so far to say that the traditional CV has passed its sell-by-date. As Lord Manley mentions, we have developed the institution of a CV to the extent that we are now lazy recruiters. Your point is still very valid though, the time factor is the biggest barrier to social recruiting becoming a more widely used format. In reality, I don't think 99% of the working population will want to explore the different avenues available, and they will stick to a CV. What social media has forced though now, is a changing landscape of how we present that information.@ Andy, thanks for taking the time to comment Andy. Your point about how any ATS copes with the social landscape is fascinating. I think we're a good few years off social recruiting becoming more mainstream, and hopefully ATS providers will learn about this new landscape and how to adapt to it.@ Lord Manley, thanks for taking part in the debate. You're right, CVs have become the norm for lazy HR and lazy businesses. That's what excites me about Mervyn's et al approach. It's forcing people to re-consider why we are still following traditional recruitment methods.@ cetko, I remember that, it was very good! Thanks for the link.@ fourcornermatt, you're absolutely right, evolution does happen everywhere! Thanks for the great anecdote.@ Sarah Durbridge, I'm still surprised someone decided to take action based on a blog of mine. For this I am honoured. The feedback you've had from the recruiters though is amazing! They're effectively telling you to be boring and don't stand out from the crowd. How poor that the recruitment consultant's have the lack of vision to sell a new approach. Well done for wanting to show some personality, and good luck with the job hunt.@ Alison Chisnell, thank you for your kind words. I don't think your practice is any different to 99% of recruiters out there. Equally this is why approaches such as Mervyn's present such an interesting case. Can it work? Does it hold promise for the future? Is social recruiting the way forward? So many unknown's, but it takes a brave few to test the landscape.

  12. >Oh God….why do I feel myself compelled to join in on this one. Here we go….I'm not an old fuddy duddy, I like to think of myself as relatively forward thinking. But this talk about the death of the CV etc is frankly total bollocks talked by a few people who spend far too much time on the internet and don't have to spend their time recruiting people.It is also a middle class professional obsession that takes no account of the fact that the vast majority of individuals do not have online profiles and probably don't want them either.Recruiting 20,000 sales assistants for Christmas? Sure go on out there and check their online profiles. How about a lolipop lady for the local school crossing? Or Nurses for a hospital…Policemen?The point of using application systems is that it allows for a form of standardisation to allow better comparison of candidates. CVs admittedly aren't perfect for this and that is why many if not all Public Sector employers ask candidates to complete an application form as well.Yes there is space for innovation, there always has been as some of the posts above suggest (or the guy who sent a spark plug with his CV attached as a label) but there is nothing new there. For the majority of roles, don't expect to see any change for at least the next decade and when change comes it will be led by organisations not candidates.Sad? Maybe. True? Absolutely.

  13. >Myopia on both sides here. HR is famously primitive and over reliant on CVs and interviews in recruitment. They;re trapped, as usual, in old fossilised methods. Recruiters who ignore online evidence are just merely unprofessional.But to rely just on online profiles is to ignore the need for a brief summary.There's a way out of this – do both by having a portfolio of evidence. Include online links in your CV and post your CV online with links.

  14. >Great post, Sukh. Like Mervyn and Sarah I am also looking for my next job. As my work is concerned with content and social media I know I have to use the relevant social media tools to help me. If an employer saw I had little or no web presence then things will be looking very bad for me. That said, my approach is going to involve new techniques and tried and tested techniques too. Tomorrow I see an outplacement consultant who has already asked to see my CV. That's fine but I'm hoping that piece of paper is just one part of showing a prospective employer who I am. Hopefully what they see of me on the web can act as a type of authentication ie I am who I say I am and I do what I say I do.

  15. >I'm very much in the same situation than Sarah and decided to rethink totally my CV, starting by not calling it CV but "Life's Sheet", redesigning it like an infography and full of links to my social media properties.The answer has been polarized: recruiters love it or hate it, already got some interviews from the former ones and a 'send me your conventional CV please' request from the latter ones.This makes me thing: if you're job hunting in an innovative way you only will get the job when stumble to a recruiter (whether HR person or not) that thinks innovative as well.

  16. >You make a very good point Delfin, and it;s another reason for me why the CV ain't dying anytime soon. Once you try and step outside the box and do your own thing to attract an employers attention it becomes purely subjective.What one person might like and warm to, another might hate. It doesn't make you any worse at doing the job in question but you run the risk of being ruled out straight off the bat because the recruiter/employer in question didn't like your approach. By contrast, a CV is a CV is a CV. Yes they come in different typefaces, on different coloured paper and with different levels of grammatical ability and presentation skills, but straight away you have a guide, a menu if you like, from which to pick out the salient points. Then you set about making a list of those you want to see. Nothing is decided until you have met that person face to face and then perhaps had a look on sites like Linkedin and possibly Facebook to see if it's all good. What's not to like about that selection process? It's fair, it's time tested and trusted and it doesn't rely on the subjective. Here endeth the sermon for the defence! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. >@ TheHRD, as always, glad to have you comment on my post ๐Ÿ™‚ clearly the CV won't die, as there are too many companies and recruiters who have staunch beliefs about using them. We're already seeing an evolution of the traditional CV though – references to online portfolios, and online presence. Agreed that a large population of web users don't have an online profile, but they're not really that far behind. With brands now offering online only specials, deals and offers, more and more people are creating their accounts on social media platforms.As regards organisations driving the change or individuals changing it? Hmm. I'm not sure on this one. My feeling is there will be some mutual exploration that goes on to find out how to drive that change. I don't mean through formal meetings, etc, but by seeing how users engage with recruitment practices. As an outsider it's fascinating to watch what's happening in this space.@ Donald Clark, thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I think myopia may be a bit harsh, but I agree with the sentiment. In the main, I don't think recruitment practices have really evolved to include social media as a valid method of selection. I like the portfolio of evidence idea and have really only seen this used by Creative types. Will be interesting to see how more traditional roles adapt to meet this development.@ Martin Couzins, I absolutely agree that for anyone looking to find work in the digital world, it's mandatory to have a presence as well as engagement with several platforms. I think that's what partly troubles me when thinking about having to provide a CV. You have to be succinct but brilliant, show personality but stick to a formula. So much contradiction. I'll be following your progress and wish you the best of luck.@ Delfin Vassallo, Many thanks for popping in and commenting. How unfortunate to hear that updating your 'Life's Sheet' (LOVE!) came to be met with polarized views, although not surprising. I like your last sentence though, only innovative recruiters will be willing to see an innovative applicant. The best of luck in your search, I hope it goes well for you.

  18. >I absolutely commend Mervyn's approach to his job search (not least as we met before Christmas and I instantly warmed to him). On thinking about it, my perspective as a communications person is to use all tools available to the best effect, to get messages to the right people. The most important thing is to deliver messages in a way that suits the other person, not necessarily in a way that suits me.I love the trailblazing style, yet for people who need to find a gratifying job as quickly as possible, talking to people in a way that resonates with them (which definitely requires legwork) must be the way ahead.

  19. >I typed out what was to be my last comment on the debate and the blooming thing got lost in hyperspace. In short, being 'innovative' is allowing people to be subjective. What one person might like by way of approach, another might positively hate. With a CV you know where you stand. It's a level playing field. You have some criteria you want to fulfil, you screen CVs using that criteria then invite people in. Only when you have done the face to face bit do you need to go about considering having a nose on social networking sites to make sure all is good. It's tried, it's trusted, it works. At a glance you get a feel for the individual's presentation skills, their grammar and their ability to sell themselves. Granted you get different typefaces, even different coloured paper sometimes, but the CV is as good starting point as any. Indeed, no one has yet invented a better one, just banged on about how the CV should die. In short, avoid the opportunity for people to be overly subjective at the first hurdle! Here rests the case for the defence!

  20. >In my experience, recruiters want life to be made easier for them, especially in a job market where they are hardly likely to be short of candidates. An alternative to CVs is one thing- and often a very good thing if you want to get noticed, particularly for speculative applications – but asking an employer to hunt around themselves for reasons to employ someone, rather than having the candidate promote themselves directly to them in a succinct and persuasive manner, sounds like a risky tactic. I think that CVs, or any promotional tactics that a job-hunter might use, work best when they are targeted to a specific employer, their recruitment needs, culture and brand. Most recruiters are like impatient web-surfers – they want to know exactly what is relevant to them, rarely no more and certainly no less.

  21. >Thought provoking post Sukh…CVs: can't live with them, can't live without them!I had an interesting discussion with Mervyn about this yesterday. If organisations are serious about social media recruitment then let them walk the talk. It's a great initiative – someone has to do it!However, as my grandmother used to say: " the road to hell is paved with good intentions".Over the last 6 months i've had all sorts of suggestions and advice on my CV – 2 pages, 1 page, eFormat, Blog, Bla, Bla, Bla! Every single person I spoke to had a different view/opinion. I haven't even met my outplacement consultant, so god help me….One person I spoke to said they didn't have time for CVs – they'd rather meet the person face to face. Others, no CV, no meet. Someone else insisted on an up to date linkedin profile with recommendations. Let's be realistic: CV's aren't going to "die" over night! I remember a friend telling me the EU Standard Euro-CV was the way forward and no one would hire you in the continent with the 2 page CV…this was 10 years ago! Even the Euro is hanging on the balance these days, let alone the Euro-CV!We're creature comforts, we have our preferences, likes and dislikes. Some people still like holding a CV and they will continue doing that. If that's what they want, go on, boost their Ego, but help educate them to change and adapt to current times. When I was hired for my last role (a recommendation), I didn't even have a CV! I went along for a chat with the manager, she got to know me in person and then asked me for a more formal interview. It wasn't until after I started that I was asked for a CV – "HR needs it on your file just in case..". For some, it's just a process or formality to complete!In conclusion: I now have a 1 page Biog, a 2 Page CV, 1 LinkedIn Profile, Lots of profiles on Job sites and watch this space: a blog at some point (I know, am way behind the times…).You want a CV – sure, here's one i made earlier! All you want is my linkedIn profile? sure thing, here's the link.You want to meet for a coffee and get to know me better – absolutely fine. There's no one size fits all anymore. We need to do a "Madonna Meets a Chameleon" and keep re-inventing and adapting ourselves, whilst, like Mervyn, changing the world and setting new trends.All this CV talk reminds me I need to update it ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. >A CV is a snap shot – a door opening pitching document – a precis of your professional experience. And the vast majority of people looking to hire will want to do an initial sift having printed off those people who they feel most fit their spec/look most promising. As good as screen resolutions are, it's not Gen Y doing the hiring yet – and most of the rest of us like the touch and feel of paper.It's a great promotional approach that Merv's doing – as pointed out, it certainly works raise the profile where it's still an exception, but it's in very few cases that the person in question is that good (perceived or actually) and at that level of experience that people will go the extra mile to get to know what the potential candidate is about – or else they must feel they have such a following that the prospective hirer knows their work already. I could imagine (Robert) Scoble probably didn't need a CV when he moved to rackspace.It's like a reverse head hunt I guess – if you know me & my work you'll know all you need to know anyway and on that basis can make a decision as to whether I'm right for you. So if you're looking to recruit someone in Recruiting that knows the Social Media space then Mervyn's gotta be on your short list. What better way as a candidate to nail your colours to the mast than this. But I very much hope that he doesn't find himself hoisted by his own petard – or at least there's a recruitment consultant out there representing him who's willing to cobble together a one page precis to at least get him on an appropriate recruiting persons desk. Just don't call it a CV that's all ๐Ÿ˜‰

  23. >HI Sukh – Great post! I was going to comment this morning but technology prevented me! Lots of comments: Mine for what its worth:I can obviously see challenges for Mervyn as his approach is new, niche right now. But with a significant number of ATS systems now able to import LinkedIn profiles, a CV is not always necessary. Also, if a 'piece of paper' is absolutely necessary for the 'paper trail' then simply print off the Linedin profile. I dont intend to do a CV either and will be pointing people to my LI profile if they are interested. And with many jobs requiring registering these days then there is hardly a point unless the CV is used for parsing.Clearly this is only really doable at a professional, relatively low volume level – as Theo points out, its hard to see how we can eliminate the CV for large scale, skilled recruitment.But for the general professional roles in marketing, HR finance etc, we could do without the CV in a lot of cases.One of the problems is that we have become dependent on the 'application' – a situation precipitated by the job sites. Recruiters have become lazy, particularly in the UK, relying on posting an ad for every role and seeing what 'CV's" come in. Gone are the days it seems when active sourcing was more normal.It seems to me that if someone is interested in me, then its far easier, simpler, safer and more comprehensive to send them an email with a link to my LI profile. I honestly cant see the difference.

  24. >@ Kay Phelps, glad the post enticed you to comment ๐Ÿ™‚ you're right about using the right tools available to you, and I think Merv has been very sma in this approach. What's interesting though is he's not tailoring his message for any particular audience, and almost seems to be doing the opposite of what you suggest. He's defining the recruitment procedure on his terms. Bolshy, no?@ Alconcalcia, your point about removing subjectivity at the first hurdle is the biggest defence in the case of keeping traditional CV approaches. It is also the biggest obstacle to innovate and create new approaches. Too many will protect this fact and will not want to try anything different. We've only just started on this journey, and indeed today's debate has cleanly perked interests.@ Rowena, i really appreciate you taking the time to contribute to this debate. you make an excellent point about an alternative CV being a risky tactic. In the current methodology it clearly is. It will only be niche roles that will allow for creativity in the application process, and as TheHRD has made mention, in the larger capacity roles, CVs will certainly be the only effective way to sift through the applicants. Merv has an uphill struggle, but he's certainly game :)@ MrAirMiles, thanks for taking the time to read through everything and commenting! Certainly, every potential recruiter will give you feedback from every direction. And actually what you've suggested is the way currently to manage applications. Learn the digital sphere, find out where the recruiters are looking for candidate information and create a presence for yourself. I think an additional point to bear in mind is where it used to be the domain of the recruitment consultant to be the one who promotes you to the recruiter, that 'power' is now in the hands of the candidate. They create the presence they desire. I know you're on a break currently, so good luck on the hunt when you start.@ Alex Hens, hi there! Thanks very much for your comment. You know i had a similar thought running around my head and you've articulated it brilliantly – a reverse headhunt is exactly what this is. As I've said above, Merv is defining the process on his terms and I have nothing but admiration for this approach.@ garethmjones, great to have you come by and comment, sorry for the various technical difficulties, but we've got you here now ๐Ÿ™‚ How interesting that you're going to go the same route as Mervyn. Another interesting case to follow! The application process does drive us to conform to certain rules. As Theo has mentioned though, organisations like the Civil Service have a full application form procedure which replaces the CV format. I'm genuinely excited about how this all unfolds in the years to come. Good luck in your hunt too ๐Ÿ™‚

Say something...

