Nourish your soul

I wasn’t in the best of moods this morning. The weekend has been a tough one on different counts. Being at work has been an effort, and I’ve not been myself really.

In a rut, I decided to break free of the chain that keeps me at my desk. I went out for a walk and was very glad I decided to get some fresh air. It felt bloody marvellous. And I missed my family, so I gave them a call. Twin 1 told me about falling onto the floor when he was having his lunch, Twin 2 told me about eating his lunch all by himself, and my wife told me about what T has been doing. And I’ve been talking with my friends, which is always a good thing to happen. And I did a little thing to help someone.

And now, after lunch, I feel nourished. My soul feels better. I feel better. I’m ready to get my head down and tackle my to-do-list.

And that’s it. Today, I offer you this. Nourish your soul. If you recognise that you are in a rut and that you aren’t being productive, force a change. In our industry, no-one is going to die, or have anything critical happen to them. So, do it. Take the time to nourish your soul. Do those things that you know will help alleviate your mood. Not just one or two things, but like I did today, a host of things. Because it’s all additive. And when you’re nourished, go back and do what you set out to achieve.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

2 thoughts on “Nourish your soul”

Say something...

