Peaks and Troughs. Ho Hum.

I enjoy my work. I’m in a lucky position that I can say this. Not many are, and it is ever increasingly the case, even if you do, there’s little security this will continue. I am grateful to be in this position, and grateful that I am able to support my family with it. At lunch today, with Mr Airmiles, I was talking to him how I’ve just lost my mojo. He asked if it was to do with the work I was currently doing. And it’s not. I’ve just lost my mojo. I still enjoy what I do, the #oomph to do more is just lacking.

This is also slightly worrying to those I work with. This is an open blog, and I’m openly telling you I don’t have the motivation to do more work? This is akin to getting myself sacked surely? Maybe it is. It depends on how seriously you want to see this as something to worry about.

It’s actually nothing to worry about. We all have peaks and troughs in our approach to work. No amount of engaging, motivating, kicking up the arse will make a difference, it’s a personal thing. I’ll get over it, and I will be back firing all guns once more. But until then I’m just not motivated.

Does this mean though that I’m not doing a good job? No. I’m still good at what I do, that hasn’t changed. And I still enjoy what I do, that hasn’t changed either. And I’ll still put my best foot forward, that hasn’t changed either. I just don’t care about it.

It’s cos I got stuff to deal with and it’s fucking annoying. I’m a procrastinator on all things personal. And it’s not easy stuff either. I tend to let things linger, and this means things happen later than they probably need to. This post isn’t for you to write a sympathetic note or comment about. It’s just me admitting to myself that this is an epic trough. <insert scream, punching and any other form of appropriate release>.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

5 thoughts on “Peaks and Troughs. Ho Hum.”

  1. I hear you Sukh . BTW you may like the thread on this LinkedIn Group talking about procrastination http://linkd.in/fnyS7D . Personally, I love Keri Phillips perspective that “Procrastination may be an indicator of wisdom”… Mr Shaw may yet have to bow to you oh wise one!!

  2. I think you make a great point here, Sukh, about not confusing that “I’ve lost my mojo” feeling, with who you fundamentally are as a person, or the skills that you have. That’s powerful. One we could all do with remembering from time to time!

  3. @ Doug – thanks Doug, hardly bold, probably more foolish on my part, but it has got me thinking about other aspects of social media and how open we are with it and with those we work with.

    @ Alison – I have the urge to blog again for sure, as for my general mojo though, that may take some other doing 🙂

    @ David – I love that, “procrastination may be an indicator of wisdom”! I’ll be sure to comment on this at a later point in time 🙂

    @ Christine – thanks for finding a positive in the message. You’re right of course. It is always worth remembering there are still things you can do well even if your self-belief says otherwise. Am reminded of the adage “the evidence speaks for itself”

Say something...

