Rapport is a core L&D skill

I enjoy watching other L&Ders and facilitators in kind, to see what they do, and how they do it. For me, the mark of a good L&Der is their ability to build rapport with a group. The first person I saw do this well was an ex-colleague of mine, Mike Griffith. I don’t think he realises how influential his training style was on me. He displayed a lot of good skills that made me (as a junior in the team) just look at him in awe.

One of those things was he just knew how to build rapport with a group. The size of the group didn’t phase him either. So I set about learning how to do this, and how to do it well. Through feedback, I found I could do this quite naturally, I just needed guiding about being inclusive and minding my language. Not that I was foul mouthed, just that I needed to be conscious of how I explained things so I didn’t lost anyone in the group.

Then I went on various training to build my skills. Practical Facilitation Skills with Roffey Park and MBTI Step I with OPP Ltd. Both of these did wonders for expanding my understanding of how to build rapport in different context. The facilitation training taught me that group dynamics can vary quickly and unexpectedly, and how can you adapt yourself in these situations. MBTI taught me about type, preferences and energy, and how to understand what this looks like across individuals and teams.

And like I said, I observe others very closely. Where I see others do this well, I am keen to understand what they just did, how they did it, and what it helped them achieve.

So, this weeks question is – who have you seen build rapport and how did it help them achieve their goal(s)?

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

