The L&D Sweet Spot

That’s it. I’ve cracked it. Seriously, I have. I know the secret to L&D. I’ve known for a while actually, but I’ve been reluctant to share it with you. Because I’m selfish like that, and wanted to ride the wave of superiority for a while. And a good ride it was too. Until I realised it got me nowhere. Enough rambling, Sukh, spit it out man!

The secret to L&D? Sharing. Nothing more, nothing less. I only learn from what others share with me. And this sharing takes all forms. I’ve worked with L&Ders who have shared subtle engagement ‘tricks’. Quite powerful but simple things like leaning in when someone is talking. Like dropping my voice to a whisper when acknowledging what someone has said to encourage them to say more. Like writing verbatim what people say onto a flipchart regardless of how flippant or serious it is so that others see all contributions are welcome.

I’ve worked with L&Ders who have shared their own self-awareness. That’s simply awe inspiring. What better way to build rapport and share a feeling with a group than showing a part of yourself? Declaring a vulnerability, and explaining how it’s hampered you. And then to go on and discuss with the group how you overcome it. A good example of courage right there. But what was helpful to me, was to see how this gave the L&Der strength. Strength in being able to go on and deliver a message that really hit a note.

I’ve worked with L&Ders who have given me feedback. They’ve taken their expertise and shown me where I’ve gone wrong. How brilliant is that? Honestly, it is. You can see that I enjoy doing what I do, and you can see I need to concentrate on certain aspects of my style to make me even better? Thank you, thank you, thank you. I have taken this on board and instilled it as a core piece of my being.

I’ve recently met many folk who are willing to share their thoughts and opinions through social networks and more. Putting your voice out there and letting the world know you want things to be a certain way. That’s impressive. Well done them. Those thought pieces inspire me to write more, because they inspire me to think better and act better.

Yesterday, on Twitter I said that today I’ll be delivering part two of a Facilitation Skills course, which in my opinion is the single best piece of training I have ever designed. I’m proud of a lot of training I’ve designed over the years, but this sits at the tops of the list. So here it is. I’ve saved it to a Google doc as it’s quite involved. Do with it what you will. There’s nothing there which is sensitive to any organisation, and in my opinion is an exercise that can be modified for far more purposes than just facilitation skills development.

Facilitation Skills Development exercise

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

5 thoughts on “The L&D Sweet Spot”

  1. Sukh – love the post and the sharing! Funny how these positive attributes also apply to leadership. After all leaders need to facilitate learning and development.

  2. Great post Sukh. Totally agree about the importance of sharing. A few years back I did a faciltation skills course which was really useful. And then there is the power of sharing and feedback – it is amazing, as you say.

  3. Utterly spot on post. Profound in its simplicity impactful in its clarity. Give all you know away and you’ll get ten times back and be energised to find some more ‘stuff’. Sharing is the new L&D mantra for a connected age. Love it.

  4. You rock! And Perry Timms is spot on – give stuff away and so much more comes back, and gets passed on – I don’t even care if it doesn’t come back as long as it ends up somewhere useful. I love reciprocity (it’s no coincidence my company is called What Goes Around) and random acts of kindness. Cheers for this post

Say something...

