Some people are just rude

Of all the things that annoy me about other people, it’s rudeness. I can’t stand it. It annoys me to an extent that I cannot find a good reason to continue the conversation. It’s a folly of mine that I fully accept.

On Twitter, and I suspect on Facebook, you suddenly very easily see what true colours a person has. Today, I saw on Twitter someone being unnecessarily rude. It’s not the first time it’s happened. They do it a lot. They’ve done it to me too. It. Winds. Me. Up. And I know this person at work. And as a result I don’t know what’s worse. That this person does this regularly with people they work with, and it’s more than just this other person and me, or that I’m still following them because of some sense of allegiance to fellow colleagues.

Annoyingly this person gets how social media works. Not just get how it works, but they advise how work should continue on projects with a social media bent. And I’m careful to suggest this is anything other than banter. You can tell what banter looks like. This is plain rudeness. For what seems to be no other reason than they think they’re being funny. They’re not. They’ve just failed to be aware of what they say and how it comes across.

So here’s the thing. I’m sure there’s a lot of people in the workplace that do this. They know the rules and norms, and enjoy trying to push those. For no other reason than they think they can. Bloody annoying eh? So how do you challenge this type of behaviour? Add to that the complexity that social media now adds to the mix, and it’s a bloody minefield. If you use a social network in a personal capacity and connect with work colleagues, when does the line become blurred of professional and personal conversations?

Well here’s what I think. If you’re connected to work colleagues on a social network, you are fully culpable of anything you say to others. Having a disclaimer that says you don’t speak on behalf of the company is nonsense. If you’ve connected with work colleagues, you’ve already crossed that line of it being a personal connection. Your connection is through work. Therefore you’re engaging in conversations that either directly or indirectly the work you do with other colleagues.

And that rudeness factor? Well I’m going to do some investigating to find out just what this person’s like at work. If this person is acting a certain way online, I’ll bet they do the same at work too. I’m not looking to get this person in trouble in any way, I just need to understand how I want to further interact with this person.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

2 thoughts on “Some people are just rude”

  1. Wow, I can’t stand it either. What is the point of it? If someone is rude to me I tend to either shrug it off or smile and say something along the lines of “Don’t worry, you must have had a pretty bad day”. This usually makes them realise there was no need for the rudeness. I can shrug off if the rudeness is directed at me but if it is at a friend, I cannot stand it and I back them up. Even if they clearly don’t need backing up. I am a lot younger than you (13) but this still really annoys me… and please don’t treat me like a child. 🙂

Say something...

