Being moved

It’s not often you come across a piece of writing that moves you. Actually stops you dead in your track and makes you think about what you’re doing. Neil Morrison, has a knack for doing this with his blog (no matter the incarnation). His writing is such that you read it and – for me – feel motivated and energised to act. Only one other person I have felt does this, and that’s Joe Gerstandt. And it’s all for the right reasons. You act because you want to, because you read something and are moved to action. Whatever gift these two have, and it is a gift, it is something I’m glad to have found through Twitter and their writing.

Yesterday, Neil wrote about the courage to believe. This resonated with me a lot. Which is apparent from the comment I left on the post. And this morning I had cause to reflect on what was happening with me on my commute to work. As my journey grew and grew, my mood was lifting ever more until I was positively built up with so much energy I stood early to get off the train. I never stand early to get off the train, I’m lazy like that. But this morning, I had to stand. I had to move in order to start making the tracks I want to.

The build up to that is worth noting. Yesterday, A took ill at school. Not seriously, but he was sick, and has a stomach bug of some sort which is bringing out all sorts. He was fast asleep early last night and all through the night in our room. I checked on him before as I got up and he seemed to be ok. I got K from his room and brought him to our room. And I marvel at my family before I leave the house. Honestly, on a daily basis, it is a blessing I get to see them and have them around me.

I awoke this morning and read a series of messages sent to me on Twitter about the decision one person made to help others and how this changed their life. To say I was humbled doesn’t begin to describe the feeling I was left with. Someone should nominate that person for the Pride of Britain award. I don’t say this flippantly. If I could recount the story, you would think the same.

On the commute to work, I started by doing my Japji Sahib. It’s the morning prayer in Sikhi, and is the first prayer in the Guru Granth Sahib. I haven’t got there yet, so am still reading it, listening to it and trying to be good. That started to shift my mood considerably. I then moved to Twitter, and got involved in a number of conversations. Twitter continues to be a constant affirmation that online social behaviours are ubiquitous* with real life social behaviours.

And then there was the music I was listening to. I remain amazed by the power of music to move you, change your mood, increase your mood, capture your feelings, make you angry, make you laugh, and everything else music makes you feel and think. The ability to sing, play music, craft it all, is brilliance, and I love it.

There is a lot of pain in this world that I don’t see (and don’t want to see), and can only imagine how others tolerate. There is also a lot of beauty in this world that continues to force a balance against that pain. We will all experience varying levels of both of these feelings, and have the choice to decide how we move forward with, or without them.

*really hoping I used that word in the right way!

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

3 thoughts on “Being moved”

  1. Fab post Sukhi and in total agreement, Neil’s piece was as stirring as ever! I believe you have that gift too. Want to know why …. well, it’s not often that I commit to creating time and space for writing anything longer than 140 words, but here I am doing just that.

    In honour of both of your posts and the way that you chose to ‘be’ this morning Sukhi, I too reflected on my ‘beingness’ in the world. Many that know me often ask whether I ever have a bad day or get ‘hacked off’ with anything as it ‘doesn’t appear that way’. Those questions bring me through an interesting thought process .. do others think I am superficially ‘up’ all of the time or should I share how I make the balance work? Like others I can wake up in the darkest of moods, fly off the handle, will be frustrated and can be irritatingly sharp, all of which, of course, hold deep learning within them. The truth is that the commitment I have made for the rest of this life and ‘how I turn up in this world’ comes from my connection to choice.

    It is my belief that I or we have a choice in every moment. I believe that everything I/we feel, sense, hear and want to say is only a version of a story that I am/we are in and I/we have an opportunity to make that story into anything else in a moment. Big beliefs I know, particularly given how the world can often be perceived around us.

    However, from choice, from this space, I take notice of what is ‘mine’ to deal with as a human on this planet (as opposed to unconsciously vomiting that out onto others). This commitment further extends into a full responsibility for every thought, action and the energy I bring into the world (please tell me when I fail and believe me I do!).

    Why would I do this? This commitment creates an amazing freedom and a flow. It also creates an amazing contentment/peace for me. It really is about simplicity of choice and really not as ‘onerous or as heavy’ as it may sound.

    Love, satsuma’s and peace (but that’s another story for another day)

    Tash 🙂

    1. Tash, thanks so much for taking the time to comment on this post. I love what you’ve said and the reflection that you have taken today is brilliant. I too believe that we have a choice in every moment, and firmly believe that every moment is a chance to do something new. Not just restricting it to the next day, or the next week, or resolutions at new year, but the very next decision. And the responsibility you have for that is yours and yours alone. No one can influence it, no matter how much we might attribute it to them.

  2. PS …. fascinating that after I wrote this piece I was instantly presented with a challenge around choice. The choice was to ‘vent off’ against an unsolicited comment (which completely took me by surprise) or to stop and make a CHOICE about what was really happening in that moment.

    Not quite sure if I have reached the ‘knowing stage’ yet on what did just happen but guess what, thankfully, I did stop myself mid-flow to make a choice. A choice to replace the handset before I vented off and to choose to play with what the interaction was in fact choosing to teach me.

    Real Life. Real Lessons. 🙂

Say something...

