Are you emotionally intelligent?

I ran a workshop session with a group of leaders in the business today and spoke about Emotional Intelligence. I’ll say more about the topic in another post, but for now, look at the statements below and see what it starts to make you question about yourself…

Self-awareness

I recognise my emotions and the effects these have on others.

I realise the links between my feeling, what I think, do and say.

I am aware of my strengths and weaknesses.

I am open to candid feedback, new perspectives, continuous learning and self-development.

I can voice views that are unpopular and go out on a limb for what is right.

I am decisive and able to make sound decisions despite uncertainties and pressures.

Self-regulation

I manage my impulsive feeling and distressing emotions well.

I think clearly and stay focused under pressure.

I build trust through reliability and authenticity.

I admit my own mistakes and confront unethical actions in others.

I hold myself accountable for meeting my objectives.

I am organised and careful in my work.

I adapt my response and tactics to fit fluid circumstances.

I seek out fresh ideas from a wide variety of sources.

Self-motivation

I am results-oriented, with a high drive to meet my objectives and standards.

I pursue information to reduce uncertainty and find ways to do better.

I can find a sense of purpose in the larger mission.

I use the group’s core values in making decisions and clarifying choices.

I am ready to seize opportunities.

I can cut through red tape and bend the rules when necessary to get the job done.

I operate from hope of success rather than fear of failure.

Empathy

I am attentive to emotional cues and listen well.

I help out based on understanding other people’s needs and feelings.

I seek ways to increase customers’ satisfaction and loyalty.

I acknowledge and reward people’s strengths, accomplishments and development.

I offer useful feedback and identify people’s needs for development.

I respect and relate well to people from varied backgrounds.

I see diversity as opportunity, creating an environment where diverse people can thrive.

I accurately read key power relationships.

I can detect crucial social networks.

I can accurately read situations and organisational and external realities.

Social skills

I fine tune presentations to appeal to the listener.

I can orchestrate dramatic events to effectively make a point.

I deal with difficult issues straightforwardly.

I listen well, seek mutual understanding and welcome sharing of information fully.

I articulate and arouse enthusiasm for a shared vision and mission.

I lead by example.

I can recognise the need for change and remove barriers.

I can spot potential conflict, bring disagreements into the open, and help deescalate.

I build rapport and keep others in the loop.

I promote a friendly, cooperative climate.

I model team qualities like respect, helpfulness and cooperation.

I adapted the above from information found on the EI Consortium site, called The Emotional Competence Framework.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

3 thoughts on “Are you emotionally intelligent?”

  1. Sakh,
    This is a pretty good list of questions that infer Emotional Intelligence competencies. I would suggest adding a stronger tie-in the emotion the statement gets at. For example, for the Self-Awareness statement “I am open to candid feedback” consider “I do not get annoyed when I receive candid feedback.” Or eliminating the negative… “I get annoyed when I receive candid feedback.
    The reason I suggest this is to really get people thinking about the emotions under the behavior. Most all of us, especially men, don’t pay hardly any attention to our emotions, and yet, Emotional Self-Awareness is the foundation competency.
    Byron

Say something...

