Life, it goes on

I’ve been racking my brains over the last few days about what I’m going to blog about this week. But I’ve got blogger’s block. And I think it’s because I’m just too pre-occupied by other things that I’d like to just get off my chest.

News about the economy is just dire. Benefits being scrapped from those in need just makes little sense to me, and the more I read about it the more I am not convinced these cuts are the right course of action. Yes, I understand we have a national budget deficit we’re trying to recover from, and that we can’t sustain or even match levels of spending that happened in the last decade, but I don’t care. People’s lives all around are being affected, and in the most desperate cases this means people have less quality of life. We’re in a developed country with more amenities and services than we can shake a stick at, and we can’t take care of the needy, elderly, or children. And that’s just shit.

What goes on in HR and L&D is small fry compared to most things. We’re in our own private bubble of activity, worrying about how we can make a difference, become thought leaders and vying for attention from our peers. All worthy activity for personal ambitions, but in the big bad, no-one really cares. Just the finite few who drop by our ways.

In recent weeks death seems to have been constantly rearing its head amongst people I know, and this makes me terribly sad. Death is such an unknown and such a constant. It sucks life means that people have to die. And dealing with the loss of those you love and hold dear is a pain that I can’t describe nor want to experience. Even thinking about my own mortality is depressing enough, and that’s just not cricket.

And then there’s family life. The twins will be five in two weeks, and T will be two in five days. I am blessed that I have three children who are alive and well. I know someone whose daughter has a physical condition which can be rectified but means enduring months in fixed plaster with no mobility, and then going through rehab to build muscles and the ability to walk again. So I look at mine, and I marvel at them. By the way, did you know that biologically speaking, it’s a wonder at all that we are alive and formed as human beings? I can’t give the actual stats, but biology is a wonderous thing.

So there it is. Nothing else to report. Lots of rubbish mixed in with the natural ebb and flow of life.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “Life, it goes on”

  1. If there’s one thing I can say about having to die, is that it makes you realise:

    a) what is really important
    b) reminds you that we’re not here for long.

    As we put on the cover page of Sophia’s order of service: “Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero”

Say something...

