Life Lessons

It’s a pleasure to host Bina Briggs on my blog today. I’ve been talking with Bina for a good while on Twitter, and have only met her the one time at a tweetup in January last year. Since then, she’s been a regular reader of not only my blog but has built a lot of good connections with all in the #connectinghr fold, and regularly talks with everyone. She hasn’t started her own blog yet, but after guest posting for Alison Chisnell, Doug Shaw, and now me, maybe she will?

When Sukhvinder Pabial @naturalgrump tweeted about publishing guest blogs on learning and development, I immediately knew that I wanted to write something. Well, here goes…

Everyone has a story to tell, you just need to have the curiosity to ask the right question and there is a unique life story unfolding right in front of you. There’s always a lesson to be learnt from their story, if you want to.

All my life I feel I have been blessed in so many ways, mostly though of the support of people around me, may that be family, friends, colleagues or business acquaintances. One of the major lessons taught by my parents was to give without expecting anything in return and life finds a way in returning the giving in abundance. This has been interwoven into the fabric of my being.

No matter what curve balls life throws at me, I know that I have my inbuilt intuition to see me through, but more importantly, there’s always a helping hand extended to me without asking! The lesson is to know how to gratefully accept that gesture of genuine help.

As a young girl in Uganda, brought up in a traditional Indian family, life was all about extended family, friends and school friends. I was lucky enough to go to Bombay (Mumbai) to study. A land so alien to Uganda but oh so exciting, so much to learn! Here again, I was supported by my extremely large but loving extended family and I also met people whom I now am lucky enough to call my lifelong friends.

The curve ball came at us in the form of Idi Amin and before we realised what was happening, my family and I left Uganda penniless and arrived in the UK.

Here we go again, a land I knew very little about with not much in common other than the history that joined my two homelands to it.

The inbuilt self reliance kicked in and I found a job in 4 weeks at the local airport. The landlord and his family, the neighbours and the work colleagues all took me/us under their wing!

Over time, I seem to break the mould each time, but then I’ve never thought of it as being different, it’s just me! This includes being the first Indian woman to work as a telephone operator, or in a shift environment in a Computer Centre. Recently another curve ball has turned into a blessing in disguise.

Starting own company in deep recession could be seen as madness; however, the generosity of networking colleagues has been amazing, Twitter, #ConnectingHR , #thebreakfastclub, BNI to name a few! Two things that have helped us when it comes to business and life are, “Givers Gain” and “It ain’t what you do, it’s the way you do it”!

Each time though, people have extended their hand of friendship, shared knowledge, helped me with my goals and enriched my life beyond my wildest dreams and they continue to do so…Thank You! x

Over the month of February I am hosting guest blog posts and the invitation is open to all. If you’d like to take part, the question you have to answer is: What has been your biggest learning in life?

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

2 thoughts on “Life Lessons”

  1. Good piece Bina. I have long been a believer in ‘Give and ye shall take’

    There is also absolutely nothing wrong in asking for help – people generally are more than happy to help. It’s also about not what you say but how you say it.

    I, too started a business in the recession but with the right attitude, it does work.

Say something...

