Learning in life and all sorts

Over the month of February, I’ve been hosting a range of people on my blog asking them the question: What has been your biggest learning in life? I wasn’t sure what response this would elicit, or what people may end up writing about. I was careful in my question in that I didn’t want it to be focused on work, or organisations. Life encompasses everything, and since we are always everything, this question felt like the right one to ask.

Today, I’d like to pay tribute to my guests and have a carnival celebrating their insights they’ve shared with you all, and taken the time to pen their thoughts. It’s been fascinating for me to learn about and read what people have wanted to contribute, and I’ve enjoyed them all.

Peter Hros kicked things off, and gave fascinating insight into what growing up in Slovakia meant for him, and how it influenced his career, mindset and determination. Saying I don’t know and have no fear of being wrong, have stood him in good stead and I hope it continues to do so.

Diane Lee came by and wrote her first guest post for me which was pretty exciting all round. She talked about how you are in control of your own life, and you can’t control for all the things that should be happening. Wise words indeed, and Letting go, was the key thing for her.

I enjoyed having Robert Weeks stop by and give us his thoughts on how we mature in our roles while within a business. Working with, not for others was a good reminder that just because requests are made it doesn’t mean we have to bend over backwards to meet them.

We were given some pretty solid Life Lessons from Bina Briggs, which really brought to light some of the adversity many before us have had to face, are currently facing, and how making the best of it helps you come out the other side a stronger person.

A question many of us ponder in our working life is Why exactly are you at work?. It was a good question from Patrick Mullarkey, which he answered very well, with illustrations of his own path! It’s not often we can find a role that allows us to be our best, and those of us who find it are the lucky ones.

I love a good story, and Jon Bartlett most certainly delivered. Per ardua ad astra (through adversity to the stars) was a great piece of writing and storytelling about the power of giving someone a chance.

Kate Griffiths-Lambeth gave us a fascinating piece about the journey her life has taken her on and how it broke down in life stages for her. She described it well when referring to Life’s learning ladder.

It’s always interesting to read how and why others use social media, and Margaret Burnside helped us to see how the likes of Twitter can be very useful in gaining access to not only good knowledge, but the opportunity to share, network and meet others. Learning at my fingertips helped capture Margaret’s thoughts quite nicely.

The final post was from Zoe Mounsey, where she talked about Learning to be happy with good enough. This resonated with a lot of people, and the personal reflection on how sometimes, not being perfect is ok, is a good message and I’m thankful to Zoe for writing it.

And there you have it! Quite the series over February, and it’s been a pleasure to host everyone. Experiments like this are interesting and fun. I found even though I may have wanted to blog myself, hosting for others is quite the task in itself, so I have blog post aplenty to write in the coming weeks! More, though, it’s been great to open up the blog in this way to others. There’s a lot to be said for collaboration, and I’m a big advocate. Thanks to my guests, and thanks to you all for taking the time to read their thoughts.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

2 thoughts on “Learning in life and all sorts”

  1. We all owe you a “thank you” for providing such an excellent platform on which such a range of views and comments could be made. I have really enjoyed reading the various posts throughout the month.

  2. As I said in my Tweet – you’ve been a great Landlord! Thanks Sukh, great theme, looking forward to reading more of your blogs now …

Say something...

