Being arrogant

I read this post from Rob Jones this morning which got me thinking about a failure I had recently. I don’t like admitting to failure. I don’t like failing. Not when it’s something I should be getting right. It’s my day job after all, and I get paid to do this job well. So when I don’t, it weighs on my mind.

When I think back on it (and to be honest I knew this as the training finished), it was my own arrogance. You see I didn’t prepare for the session properly. It was a topic I’ve delivered before, and was (overly)confident in my ability to just go ahead with no plan or agenda. This is where alarm bells should have started ringing for me.

I winged it basically. For three hours. Oof. That’s just bad cricket. I don’t have a lot more to say on this failure. It’s something which I can rectify and there is a clear opportunity to make good. And, if I do it better, a really good opportunity to ensure learning has happened.

Cheers Rob, for the reminder that we can and should fail, even if it’s a hard pill to swallow.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “Being arrogant”

  1. Ahhh, so true – a flaw many of us have from time to time.

    That having been said I think there is a difference between being “proud” of our work (however we choose to define this) and being arrogant “as a person”.

    In a way, this flaw is part of the sub-set of “ego-related” challenges we (also) all face. What you said about “not liking failure” is a big part of this – as we often associate “falure” with “who we are”.

    I know many say it is better to “leave the ego at the door” (easier said than done – esp. when we know that just past the door there many that may be waiting to “judge” us) – but, if we can make that distinction between “self” and “actions by the self” – that’s a good start 😉

    Nice post – always love a good dose of honesty 😉

    T..

Say something...

