The half fulls and the half emptys

I like philosophising. My friends say I do it too much. I’m always looking for the thread that connects things (fights strong internal battle to talk about MBTI). Life is just so full of happenstances that when those patterns emerge you get to see how and why certain behaviours happen. It’s one of the things I’m acutely aware of when I deliver L&D solutions with a group of people. I’m not just interested in delivering the content. I’m interested in seeing what people are going through. What have I noticed from when you entered to when you left? And also it’s why I enjoy Twitter. What behaviour do I see with you from when I started following you to when I saw your last tweet?

At the same time, life is full of glass half full and half empty types. If something good happens, the half full types start to see other good things that happened. The half empty types will brush it off as an odd occurrence of life, atypical in their life.

So what happens when you start to focus on improving one aspect of your life?

In a previous post, I wrote about finding your signature strength. That is, a character trait that defines you, and permeates through everything you do.

When you are ill and you go the doctor, they ask a series of questions to isolate what the problem is. That funneling process is key to knowing how to treat you. Most of the time they’ll be spot on. The times they’re not is when they haven’t asked the right questions to know where to focus. It’s all a learning process. And when they’ve got it, when they’ve nailed it, and they treat your illness, eventually you’re back fighting fit.

People with multiple problems in life will be referred to a lot of different services to help them. Counselling for depression. Alcoholics anonymous for people who are addicted to alcohol. Support groups for people taking drugs. Therapy for mental illness. Clinics to help reduce obesity. Some of those people will never be able to life fulfilled lives because there’s just too much going wrong. The best they can hope for is a manageable life. Those who can be helped, are helped because they’ve got the right interventions to get them out of their private hell. The focus is clear and unwavering. Eventually, for those in the last statement, their life gets better.

Humans are good at making things happen. When we see a clear destination point, and we’ve got the right motivation to get there, we’ll do it. What surprises us is when other things in life suddenly start to happen too. That’s not happenstance though. That’s us being highly conscious and being are best selves.

This is what I’m hoping to help people do.

Next Friday (17th August) I’m holding Positive Psychology in Application. 21 people are attending so far. I want to give them focus to help themselves get some clarity on affecting one area of their life. My hope is that once they do, they’ll start to feel more positive about other aspects of their lives, and what they can do to enhance that.

I’d like it if you booked on, and I can help you too.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

