It’s time to talk about mental health

I don’t suffer mental health problems. Yet.

I’ve been fortunate to not suffer from mental health issues. So far.

One in four of us will be affected by mental health problems at some time in our life. That means in all likelihood, someone you know is right now having a difficult time in their life.

It’s something I’ve always been conscious of. I’m aware of it as a thing. I get that sometimes people aren’t at their best and it’s because of something they’re not able to cope with.

I don’t have that personal experience. I have known others to experience it.

I’ve had hard times, but that’s not the same as suffering from a mental health problem.

It’s why I’m so interested in Positive Psychology. I want those feeling like this to know they can live fulfilled lives, and it can be a really hard journey.

If there comes a time when I fall down and I don’t know which way is up, I want to know I can cry and seek help without feeling embarrassed or dismissed. I want to know that those in my life will have the courage and heart to talk to me and ask me how I am.

Recently on Alison Chisnell’s blog, someone wrote a very brave post about how they have been affected by mental health. It’s sparked something, and you should read the follow up invitation to do something about it.

This is my invitation to you.

Are you affected by mental health? Do you know someone who is?

Have you wanted to express your feelings and thoughts but not had an outlet? Are you reluctant to write openly but want to share your experience?

Use this space. It’s yours. Write what you want and what you need. I’ll keep it anonymous unless you want to share who you are. I’ll help spread the awareness of what this is. I want to support in this small way.

It’s time to talk about mental health.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “It’s time to talk about mental health”

  1. Excellent post. I think one of the interesting things for me about the area in which I work is that we and the people we train work extensively with people with mental health issues and you are right, often people just want a safe space in which they can talk, express their feelings and issues and know that there is not going to be any judgement.

    Bringing Mental Health issues out into the open and getting people to talk about it is the first step towards accepting that people with mental health issues are still people just like the rest of us.

Say something...

