Resilience, joy and dignity

There’s something to be said about the university of life. Experience, life, living, breathing, eating, healing, dying, educating, smiling, laughing, crying, procreating, being, sighing, procrastinating, sex making, swimming, jumping, exhilarating, saddening, hoping, demeaning, angering. There’s something to be said about what that all does for us.

I’ve seen my fair share of death. It’s a horrid thing to be around. The sadness that people feel. The depression they can find themselves in. The loneliness of it all. The support they find with others. The comfort of a loved one. I don’t mind the funerals so much. For me it helps the mourning.

I’ve had people cry their eyes at work on me. That’s tough. How do you console people who you’re not even close with? How do you give them space and let them know it’s ok to express their sadness this way?

I’ve been made redundant. We all knew it was coming, and we stilled ourselves for it all. It wasn’t messy, but it certainly wasn’t well handled.

I’ve had personal loss. That’s never easy.

I’ve seen all my children born and been there every step of the way with them since birth. When the twin boys and my daughter were born I cried my heart out at the sheer joy of it all.

I’ve had laughs and special moments with my wife who continues to walk with me in this crazy thing called life and I love her for it.

I’ve seen my parents grow to be these old people that I have to now counsel on all things in life and help them be the best they can.

I’ve grown up with my friends for 19 years and we’ve all been wonderful together.

I’d like to think I’m resilient.

No-one taught it to me.

No-one explained it to me.

It happened.

You know what we’re guilty of in the HR profession? Not helping people be resilient. I am and have been lucky. I’ve had the experience which helps me to define my path and allows me to determine where I’m going next.

A lot of people working for and with us don’t have that. They’re reliant on their work to help provide them stability.

People face shit every day. They go through trials and tribulations that impact them in ways we can’t and don’t understand.

We don’t have to be their counsellor. That’s not what they need from us. They need from us to help them be resilient. To get up and face the same thing the next day and to do it with dignity and with their head held high.

Who’s game?

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

2 thoughts on “Resilience, joy and dignity”

Say something...

