What the blogging figures?

So I’ve passed a fairly significant blogging milestone – 40,000 views. Nice.

As always, thanks for reading my thoughts. Most of what I blog about is quite specific, so to gain this milestone is seriously motivating.

When I pass figures like this, I find it a good point to reflect on how I got there, what I think it means for blogging, and any other useful information or insights that might occur to me.

40000 stats

First things first. This is not an amazing set of blogging figures. It’s about on par for most day to day bloggers. Some of the popular bloggers out there get these kinds of figures in a month – easily.

Passing 40,000 views has taken two and a half years of blogging effort. That’s not entirely easy yo! It means on average I post at least once a week, sometimes three times a week. If I’m at a conference then that’s up to four posts I’m publishing in one day. Last year I got 18,000 for the year, and this year looks like it might run to the same. That works nicely for me. I’m on a steady path and I’m still enjoying it.

I’ve actually been blogging for three and a half years, but transitioned over from Blogger in February 2011, that’s why it randomly starts then.

I don’t write for the numbers. If that were the case I’d be pushing content which was much more marketing in its focus. I’d also be going for the top tips for blogging like “5 key ways to train your staff” or “8 killer strategies for course design” – that’s the stuff which gets the big hits – apparently. I tend to write when there’s something to say and talk about in the L&OD profession. My readers are quite attuned to this and mostly follow me for that purpose. I do blog about other topics, and they are where I express myself in different ways.

The numbers suggest some kind of stabilisation over the last year. That is, I’ve hit a comfort zone of writing which regularly attracts a certain level of readership which is quite fluid in its nature. That’s cool by me. Some part of me wonders what it takes to create higher numbers for discreet postings. For example, some bloggers I know will push their content from months and years ago, thereby creating regular reasons to come back to their blog. Others have that kind of blogging presence which just attracts everyone and their dog. Most – like me I suspect – attract a core, and they fluctuate naturally.

Here’s a list of most searched terms that lead people to my blog:

Positive institutions – because I write things about positive psychology

Sikhism places of worship – because I wrote a post about “A snapshot of a Sikh wedding

Learnings in life – because Kate Griffiths-Lambeth wrote a guest post for me about “Life’s Learning Ladder“.

Positive psychology at work – because, unsurprisingly, I wrote a post about “Using positive psychology to create change at work“.

Manipulators body language – because I wrote about “The link between emotions and behaviours“.

Failure at work because I wrote about “Dealing with failure at work“.

Presentations on change because I wrote about “HRD11 Presentation on Change“.

And here are some random search terms:

solier full of stange oath and beared like the pard – you got me.

3 e’s in l&d – clearly.

prochaska’s changing for good – well good on you, prochaska. Hope it goes well for you.

I cannot stand rude people – quite.

Y’all have my gratitude in abundance 🙂

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

