Why do I blog?

Why do people blog?

For some it’s a way of sharing information and content they come across. That can be news, pictures, stories, poetry, statistics, data and all sorts. It can be really useful to know people who blog like this. They are the curators of the digital world, and they play a pivotal role in sharing useful and relevant information and content.

For others, though, it’s mostly about validation of thinking. They are writing because they want to know their thinking about topics resonates with others. We don’t want to be alone with our thoughts. We enjoy it when someone listens. We enjoy it when we’re credited with a particular thought or piece of writing. It’s motivating, and for some can be inspiring.

That validation of thinking takes this blogging malarkey into all sorts of interesting avenues. Some, like me, gain a readership. We have things to say, a faithful following of people who will read and share, and it encourages us to write more. For others, their thinking is really no different, but their writing is something else. They craft stories, they draw you in with their words, and you’re compelled to read more. And there are some who are intelligent in their thoughts and provide insight into topics we didn’t know we needed.

There’s also a quite profitable market for the professional writers and bloggers who get paid to write either because of their celebrity or because they are considered a force majeure in some regard. I’ve often wondered if I have what it takes to do that, and in honesty I have a steady income from a full time job so I’m not bothered about that.

Blogging about blogging is always interesting for me. It helps me to focus where I’m at and where I’m going. I’ve taken a fair bit of time off from writing and needed to put pen to paper. Validate me, encourage me, and motivate me. I’m always happy to write on topics of interest if they’re passed my way. If not, there’s enough happening in the world that I’ll voice my opinion on various things.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

