Financial health and security

Money makes the world go round so some people say. To some, money equates to happiness. And for pretty much every living person on the planet, we need money (in some form) to survive and to live. We should all be saving for the future, and we could all be better at understanding finance (well ok not all, but like 95% of the population). Did you know that sound advice is to have three months of your wage in savings for a rainy day?

I’m at a stage in my life where the future matters more than it ever has done before. My wife and my children are the only things I care about and that I want to be around for. There’s a fine balance to reach. I want to provide them a loving household where they always feel secure as people and are able to grow and thrive. I also want to provide them with financial security so that they can have a future of possibilities.

I just don’t view money as a long term thing. I see it as a very transactional, necessary part of life that gets in the way. I want something, I either buy it or I save to buy it or I take out an agreement for the long term purchase of it.

At work I understand how budgets work, and have a fair understanding of the financial operation of an organisation. I might even be able to explain EBITDA. In truth I actually find it interesting from an intellectual standpoint.

And then there’s the work I do. People stuff. Helping people learn new skills and develop in order to achieve personal and organisational goals. Sometimes being a mediator, sometimes facilitator, sometimes trainer and sometimes advisor. I get paid to help people move forward at work. I often marvel that this could exist as a job at all, and am glad it’s something I have learned how to do.

So, for me, there’s a tension between not caring about financial health, and caring about financial security. If I don’t understand things like investments and savings then I can’t have either. And at the same time I do a job which is about personal health and wellbeing. The two aren’t exclusive, I just find that tension sometimes difficult to manage and deal with.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

