My practice, your practice, the practice

Two years ago I wrote a post about wanting to know what next shiny development in L&D was going to be. You should read it, cos while I’m at #cipdLDshow I’m left feeling the same. I’m left feeling that there is no new content. There’s nothing different happening in the world of L&OD. It’s the same stuff being wrapped up and coated with glitter. You know what’s new about engagement? Nothing. You know what’s new about management development? Nothing. You know what’s new about learning technologies? Nothing.

So I give up, L&D. I give up seeking the new shiny, and in truth I probably should have got off this bandwagon a long time ago.

You know what learners don’t care about in your organisation? They don’t care about the latest model or theory. They care about learning a skillset that will improve their performance.

You know what the business doesn’t care about? They don’t care if you have a learning catalogue or an outsourced learning function. They have a set of learning needs that need solutions.

You know what classroom based learning can’t fix? It can’t fix the day to day issues people face and need a solution swiftly.

You know what informal learning is useless for? It’s useless for debate and challenging of ideas.

You know who doesn’t care about L&D. Everyone except us doing the role.

So I’m done with it. I’m going to focus on my practice as I always should have done. I’m not missing anything important. And if I am, I’m tapped into so many networks and have such a strong personal learning network that it’ll find me eventually.

I’m fortunate, yo. I’ve been in a very fortunate position for a number of years now and I’ve taken full advantage of it. I’ve listened, I’ve paid attention, I’ve taken the time to learn, and I’ve had my fill.

I know as much as I need to. I’m being arrogant about this. I’m being purposefully disruptive to the L&D profession. If I start to spout rubbish, I fully expect people I trust and know to slap me with a wet fish and tell me to sort it out.

It’s my practice. That’s what’s important. You can do with you practice what you will. If and when I encounter you, I will support you and ensure I help you to be the best you can. The practice of L&D itself is eating itself up. I’m tired and gonna get on with making things happen.

That’s where I’m at.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

2 thoughts on “My practice, your practice, the practice”

  1. I get a real sense of your disappointment, Sukh, that the new stuff’s not there… I wonder then, ‘what do you think is missing?’.
    What comes to mind as I read your post is that maybe what we’re doing hasn’t landed yet, so maybe business/people/the world isn’t ready for what could be new… at the moment.
    I also wonder if you’re waiting for something to come out with a bang. Rather than recognising and accounting for the incremental changes that have happened. 10, 15, 20 years ago, the world of learning was different to now.
    I’m seeing a lot more technology being used creatively; a growing focus on systemic working, rather than a focus on the individual (though that might be because it’s my passion and I’m noticing that people are embracing it more).

    Slow, deliberate change doesn’t mean no change at all.

    The other consideration is that maybe you’re one of the pioneers. Which isn’t an easy place to stand in.

    Keep provoking… it’s a vital part of our growth and awareness!

    Esther

Say something...

