OD, Wellbeing and Health

When was the last time you felt vibrant?

It’s quite the question isn’t it?

It’s a hard thing to define too. What is vibrancy? And when I feel it, how do I recognise it? I might know that it’s a concept which exists, but can I be confident I’ve ever experienced it?

I last felt vibrant when I last delivered a talk similar to this at a conference in May. Lots of things went right for me in that moment and I felt great. It was a great reminder that for good things to happen, you have to work at them.

Hmm. Ok, so let’s move on.

How’s your wellbeing?

Do you take care of you, enough?

Again, quite the searching question. Most people won’t and don’t. But why? It’s not hard, and it’s not difficult. It’s just a matter of keeping the right things happening regularly and consistently over the bad things/negative things.

Overall, I’m happy with my wellbeing. I’ve always been mindful about how I am and what I need to help me be my best. I eat well, have always kept physically active, keep as much in touch with my friends as I can, and am happy with family life. Believe me when I say I know this is not the norm, and also believe me when I say that this is far from easy. I will eat things which aren’t great for me regularly (crisps), sometimes miss going to the gum for days, can go months without seeing or talking with friends, and can forget how awesome it is I have a family at all.

Ok. I’m thinking now.

How many of us have business aligned objectives? I’d expect most readers to say they all do. I doubt the truth of that.

Because look at your own wellbeing and health. How many of you can confidently say that your day to day activities are aligned to achieving positive wellbeing and health?

That’s what positive psychology is about. It’s about positive living and wellbeing. It’s about a set of activities and tasks which help us feel better about our lives in genuine ways.

So when we look at things organisational development, I wonder if we’re aligned to that as a goal? Because, essentially, that’s what our role is about. It’s about helping people at work be their best. We do that in a variety of ways, and I think we could do that so much more.

– How many of us share the good stories from our interventions and solutions? Not just to the senior leadership teams, but to everyone?
– How many of us advocate and promote better working lives in the interventions and solutions we provide? When we do that, we’re helping everyone be their best
– How many of us just let the group of people we’re with just get on and chat? People love to talk, and when they do great things happen
– How many of us share resources of great things we come across online to help create a culture of open learning? People don’t need permission but they need to be shown it’s ok to do it
– How many of us have a mindset of participant-led learning? People don’t need facilitators for their learning, they just need to know they are already doing great learning activities

Organisational development is about helping people in an organisation improve their wellbeing and health. The likelihood is this will improve organisational performance.

The above is the basis of the workshop I’m doing at the Strategic HR Network OD Conference on 8th July 2014.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “OD, Wellbeing and Health”

  1. Hi Sukh – sending best wishes for a truly vibrant day 🙂
    I ran a short session on wellbeing at a conference in 2013. As part of the prep I asked people on Twitter to help define wellbeing. You were among the group of people who contributed – I stuck the responses on Storify. Here’s the link:
    https://storify.com/dougshaw/responses-to-the-question-when-you-hear-the-term-w
    I also wrote a short blog about one aspect of the talk which struck a chord.
    http://stopdoingdumbthingstocustomers.com/wellbeing-2/tiffanys-message/
    Maybe this stuff is useful? Have fun!
    Cheers – Doug

Say something...

