The Curious Case of the Anonymous Tweeter

I am intrigued by Twitter users who choose to keep themselves anonymous, yet at the same time choose to interact with the community they affiliate with.

It’s an odd one in my mind.

You want to remain anonymous, yet take part in discussions with others.

You want to remain anonymous, yet write a blog and publish this in the social space.

You want to remain anonymous, yet follow others to see what they have to say.

These people are connecting, and they’re interacting, and they’re doing all these social things, but they’re just hiding behind a veil.

I understand the purpose of hiding if you’re afraid to out yourself. There’s something about self-preservation which many of us don’t want to jeopardise.

I understand literal veils. They have strong religious and cultural norms attached to them. They are meaningful and help people find self-identity.

I understand masks. They help people be someone they normally aren’t. Or they help people have fun.

Most of all, though, I’ve seen that eventually the veil gets removed and people out themselves. I’ve seen lots of people choose to keep ‘protected’ and then ‘out’ themselves.

So, I have some questions:

If you’re hiding, why are you hiding?

If you came out from hiding, what prompted that?

If you want to continue hiding, what’s driving that?

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

3 thoughts on “The Curious Case of the Anonymous Tweeter”

  1. Funnily enough I’ve come across & connected with two anonymous tweeters in the HR/LD space this last week who it also seems are starting new blogs (first time blogs maybe?). To some extent I can’t help but be curious about who they are but in reality it just doesn’t matter.

    Their writing is as good if not perhaps better than most blogs I read. They clearly have their reasons for being anonymous and if that anonymity allows them to interact & write as they do then I’m good with that. I see it less of a veil and more as a friendly voice from over the hedge.

Say something...

