Is blogging a convenient distraction?

I’m troubled my friends. I’m troubled by the aspirations and ambitions of all us in the HR space writing about all these important things to make work better.

I’m troubled because I wonder if this is a convenience of distraction to life outside of our worlds.

Events in the Middle East are continuing to be troubled with violence on a scale many of us in the West will never comprehend. I am so ignorant of a lot of that, mostly because there is so much to understand about it all.

Big important issues like having a society where different walks of life are accepted and included remain one of the biggest challenges facing modern existence.

Yesterday, the NASA Twitter account tweeted the actual timeline of the Apollo 11 space flight to the Moon. Only 9 human beings have seen the Earth from that perspective. And we’re not likely to do that again until it becomes a commercial venture.

Children across the world continue to be victims of violence, abuse and all manners of manipulation. That continues to make me sad and helpless.

And maybe I’m talking about things so far out of my and our control that it doesn’t matter.

Maybe all we have the capacity for is to write about our working lives and organisational life.

Maybe we want to do more but don’t know how to support that.

Maybe all these things would be better if more people paid attention.

And maybe we’re all happy to just carry on with our lot and feel lucky of the life we lead away from all that.

I’m troubled. Yet here I go, about my day, about my life, resigned to what is.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

16 thoughts on “Is blogging a convenient distraction?”

  1. Everything else is overwhelming isn’t it? We find necessary distractions – most of us could spend our lives more productively for others, yet we find a balance that also serves ourselves – and that normally involves the deployment of distractions. Busy doing nothing…

  2. Hi Sukh
    As ever, I really liked your post.
    I’ve covered similar territory myself: http://wp.me/p2YgNX-fx
    Far from being a distraction however, I find blogging helps me to organise my thoughts on some of these BIG challenges and start to make some sense of it all.

  3. The morning paper I read on the train is so depressing at the moment it regularly makes my eyes well up with tears. But it’s good to be informed about what humans are capable of doing to each other and to feel compassion – occasionally in our own small way we can also do something positive to help. Eg stories about cruelty to children always affect me the worst so I decided a few years ago to give regularly to a related charity. I try to teach my own children tolerance above pretty much all else, although I do have a *thing* about good manners! I think your blog is a creative outlet for you Sukh and it gives others something useful and thought provoking too, so keep on writing – I like your style and your empathy.

    1. Hi Jo, and thanks for taking the time to comment. I appreciate your feedback on my writing.

      How excellent to hear of how you’re helping the children to learn such valuable things such as tolerance. I try with my own and it’s tough when they’re actually in fisticuffs with one another!

  4. I think even being a blogger means that some days we’re troubled. Sometimes we share what’s troubling us in a blog post… Sometimes we don’t share what’s troubling us. There can be states of euphoria, stimulation, emotional angst and even loneliness. I don’t think blogging ever creates a middle ground for us… which is probably why we blog.

    I find distractions can be really useful. Sometimes I need the blog to distract me (or help shape my thoughts). Sometimes I need real life, face-2-face encounters with people to distract me (or help me relax my thoughts).

    Are you getting the useful distractions that you need?

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this, David. You’re right, the distractions are helpful in helping us find that way of dealing.

      And yes, I do have the useful distractions I need 🙂 (and some admittedly not useful distractions which I’m working on)

  5. But Sukh, isn’t your work making a positive change to society? And isn’t your blogging about it furthering its impact?

    1. Ryan, thank you for reminding me about this. Yes, the organisation I work for is making a positive impact on society, and I see clearly how my role plays a part in that.

      If my blogging helps serve that too, then I accept that feedback 🙂

  6. A really good post Sukh, I like it for it’s humility, honesty and challenge. Some of the things I value about you as a person too. When I travel I don’t watch television (including the news) and when I read the paper I get cross about the implications and prejudices that certain pieces or papers give. What that also means is I lose track on what is happening in the wider world. When I do reconnect, it gives me a sense of perspective to the things that have been troubling, worrying, or frustrating me as when I am in it I can get caught up and it becomes a little all consuming. I feel like I’m ok with how I do make a difference in the wider world as if I can deliver my personal purpose (creating happiness) then that will translate out to the wider world too. Thanks again for a great post. Phil

    1. Really love this, thanks Phil. You’re right, we can’t and shouldn’t get consumed by all things, and we each need to realise the personal difference we all make.

  7. I get what you’re saying. Reading the news, listening, seeing the reports from wars, the long term abuse of children and women, I despair. I’m with you on your maybes.

  8. I’m not sure that we don’t have the capacity to write about anything other than our working & organisational lives. I know I have, but, and here is the thing, with organisations checking the social media profiles of their employee’s & potential employees could it be that we have a fear of writing about anything other than our working & organisational lives?

Say something...

