Dear readers, you rock

Wow.

I’m at the stage of my blogging where I’ve got a strong regular following, and new people are finding my blog too. I still find the writing enjoyable, and there seems to be no shortage of things to write about. From comments, and from interactions I have with people, I am told that my writing has relevance.

One of the common questions I’m asked is how do I find the time to write? These days, it’s such a regular activity that it just happens for me. I don’t have to find the time to write. I don’t have a plan for my blogging. It’s very rare I draft blog posts – once it’s written I pretty much hit ‘publish’. That often means I haven’t clearly thought through what I want to say, and my writing reflects that. My writing, as I’ve described before, is my way of thinking outside my head.

And as I was reminded recently by Tim Scott, I once said “Blogging, it’s my thing yo.”

I tend not to write controversially, although I often make my position clear on certain topics. That tends to mean some people aren’t sure how to react to what I write. If it’s something they have an interest in, I’ve pretty much excluded them from having a proper dialogue with me. I’m ok with that, but it’s not my intention. My intention with my writing is for me to express myself, and invite others to think with me.

I just write when the bug bites. The WordPress app on Android is pretty good for me. The dot com site is pretty awesome and I can access from most devices. So it’s not like there are any barriers to my writing.

And, I guess importantly, I don’t tend to write about issues facing my actual organisation. Instead, things that happen at work inspire me to write about my perspective from my profession and what it means across other organisations. That allows me the freedom to write as an internal practitioner. I know there are people who think there are boundary issues with such things, and I don’t deny that reality. For me, though, I’ve found a way to make it work, and be open about it with anyone who knows me, both in work and personally.

This week I hit 70,000 blog hits. I’m proud of that, and I’m really joyed that people find the time to read what I write. It’s very personally satisfying and brings me a lot of personal enjoyment when I write. I want to share, though, that for the truly best bloggers out there this milestone happened a long time ago for them. And, for the peak of that group, they achieve this number of hits in a month!

But, for me, this is an important milestone. I’ve been doing this blogging lark for about 5 years now. I’m averaging about 2000 views a month depending on how often I write, and how well read the various pieces are. I find comments interesting – there’s no big answer for how to get people to comment. If they do, that’s personal choice. And FYI, this is my 508th blog post. That’s a lot of writing!

It’s hard to say what topics are better read than others. And it’s hard to say what you should or nor write about. As with most things, it’s the quality of the writing which invites a readership. For sure, I’ve written pieces which I thought were great pieces of writing, but have not been read well. That’s not to say poor writing gets read well, cos that’s just not true.

I mean, all I’m saying is thanks you lot. Some of you have stuck with me for years. You guys are awesome. Some of you have recently found me. Thank you for enjoying my writing. And some of you dip in and out of my writing. You are always welcome.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “Dear readers, you rock”

  1. Back atcha, Sukh! YOU’RE the one who rocks! Thank you very much for your regular and dependable views on our profession. I don’t always agree with your position, but you’re providing a forum here that is very valuable. I’ve learned much, and have gotten to know many, through your daily efforts. You’re the best!!!

Say something...

