What is it to be brave?

As ever, I’m often up for a blog challenge. This one comes from Tony Jackson who asks the question, how is L&D brave in what they do? It’s a great question, and there have been some ace contributions from other bloggers too. Check out the #ldbravery hashtag for more.

I find the topic of bravery to be of such interest. It’s one of those words which you really can’t use lightly. It has to be used with purpose. For you to call something brave, something extraordinary must have happened for you to act in an such a way which inspires others to act themselves, or provides deep encouragement of what you’ve done.

I find it hard to look back and say I was brave. That’s a modesty as well as a humility thing. I’m sure I have done brave things. Often, I’ve been brave because I’ve had the support of others to enable me to do that.

For me that’s where being brave comes from. At work I have a good network of colleagues I can talk to and I trust their opinion. I talk openly with my manager and we debate things often. I have good people in my personal network who I can rely on to offer me great advice, deep listening, and the heart of saints. Professionally, all that helps me to be brave when I need to be and when I want to be.

I see being brave in L&D in two lights. One is when we’re confronted with a situation in facilitation or learning event and we need to address it. It’s never acceptable for any one person to purposefully disrupt a session and we need to be able to challenge it.

The second is in the advocacy of what we do with our colleagues. Most people will accept that L&D is a necessary component of a successful business. What most people aren’t aware of, though, is the plethora of ways learning can be supported. Advocacy in the face of ignorance requires us to be brave.

I continue to learn how to do these things well. I have had to do them many times, and I’m sure I’ll continue doing the same. I don’t get phased by this because of the people I have around me. They provide me with reflective practice opportunities which I find invaluable and enable me to learn how I work best.

Please do take part in this blog challenge, it’s brave to write openly and share your thoughts with others.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

