Blog reflections of 2015

I write a lot on the blog. In 2015 so far I’ve written 71 blog posts (including this one). I write so much that sometimes I forget what I’ve written. You see, I don’t tend to write for longevity. I tend to write to just say things. I think things, sometimes there’s clarity in the thinking, and sometimes there’s not. My blog is my space to just share what I’m thinking openly. There’s a lot written in the online space about working out loud, thinking out loud, failing out loud and other things about open sharing. I tend to think that anyone who blogs is by virtue of blogging, doing all these things in various forms.

I do watch my blog stats as it’s interesting to see how the blog ‘performs’ as such. There’s one thing for sure, there’s no guaranteed way to get blog hits. Some writing attracts more views than others, some writing attracts more comments than others, and some writing attracts few views. There are too many people who will claim that certain writing goes viral over other writing. They don’t know what they’re talking about.

Interestingly, in 2014 I wrote 116 blog posts, so for some reason this year has been slower on the blogging front. I have experimented with writing on LinkedIn and on Medium, but it’s interesting to see how much less I’ve written. In 2013 I wrote 119 posts, so I’m on some kind of decline in writing. Maybe I’ve said enough on most topics. Maybe life is happening in other ways. Maybe I’ve been focused on other things. Maybe I’m getting bored of blogging.

Over the last 3 years, then, I had 20,900 views in 2013, 25,200 views in 2014 and I should hit above 17,000 in 2015. According to that, there seems to be little correlation with number of views and number of blog posts written. I wrote very similar numbers in 2013 and 2014 but had a difference of nearly 4,500 views. That should give an indication to anyone who wonders about the relationship between regularity of writing and views.

Of everything I’ve written in 2015, these are the posts that have been most read:

I’m not a pro blogger. I don’t write to get paid, I don’t have sponsored content and I don’t write professionally for others. It’s not because those things aren’t of interest to me, they are, it’s more that I don’t blog for those things. Anyone who’s heard me talk about my ‘third place’ in my positive psychology sessions will know that for me, blogging is where I can just be me.

Blogging has offered me, and continues to offer me a great way to connect with a real variety of people. I thoroughly enjoy the social side of blogging and that’s one of my main motivators in writing in the social space. I get told I have influence, and I can see why that may be seen as the case, but in truth, my writing is small fry compared to others. My numbers I’ve shared above are quite humble compared to others whose writing gets read and shared far more widely than mine does. As I’ve said above, I don’t blog to get hits, and it is hopefully helpful to share that there are others whose writing gets far better stats than mine might perceive to.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

3 thoughts on “Blog reflections of 2015”

  1. So tell me Sukh – if there was a law passed tomorrow and it said you an no longer allowed to blog (very hypothetical I know) what would you do? How would you deliver your message?

  2. So tell me Sukh – if there was a law passed tomorrow and it said you are no longer allowed to blog (very hypothetical I know) what would you do? How would you deliver your message?

Say something...

