On Skiing

I lose myself as I glide along the snow. I’m warm from being wrapped up, aware of the cold as it presses against my skin. There’s just the snow. The white of it so pure and such a sight. The mountains in view present such majesty and awe. And at once I become conscious that I need to turn and my knees jerk.

Skiing, for me, rejuvenates me through, deeply. It touches parts of my being that I don’t know I need to be caressed. In another world I call this my third place – where I can just be, free from anything and everything. All that I need to think on is how to get down the slope.

It is such an alien affair. How did humans devise such an activity? To put these long flat sticks on these heavy boots and ski down a mountain of varying degrees of difficulty. And it’s a sport. And it’s a thriving sporting activity. And people of all ability go back year on year. Some even stay at resorts for the season just so they can ski regularly. Others ski for just an afternoon. Most spend a week. All are there to find out what it’s all about.

And the engineering! They create these cable cars that are quite frankly the scariest forms of transport I’ve ever travelled in yet are the most trustworthy of things you could travel in.

image

Such a mind developed the intricate mechanisms that won’t fail and will be safe. How you even conceive of an idea like this I don’t even know. And it’s not just cable cars.  There are gondolas, chair lifts and all sorts of other ways to get up a mountain only to ski back down it again. Sure, bridges are pretty cool, but to build a cable car that is at the top of a mountain so sturdy that it can operate in sub zero temperatures?  That’s kind of just amazing.

But those views. By God those views.

image

image

As you go higher up the mountain and the air becomes crisp and the sky so clear all you can do is bask, that’s when you believe this could be somewhere the gods choose to live. The gentle breeze that lofts an air of snow and gently moves it along the piste. The distance you can just gaze and get lost. And wonder, just why are people fighting?

I’d often be on the chair lift and just marvel. Oh the fortune of being able to do that. And of course get a pic taken of what it’s about.

image

And I’d look down the slope and think, come on then, let’s do this thing.

image

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “On Skiing”

Say something...

