Disruption of Thinking

It’s just relentless at the minute isn’t it? One thing after the other. I think it all started in 2016 when we heard David Bowie died. It just didn’t stop from that point on.

It wasn’t just the sad news which kept coming. It was also the shockwaves we didn’t know how to deal with and were reluctant to believe could be reality.

Then reality bit. And bit again. And like a zombie gnawing away at your live flesh, it kept on biting.

My thinking has been disrupted so many times. Just when I think I’ve caught my breath and ready to steady the ship, another thing bites.

And I think back to times previous. When things were calmer. There was hope. The Olympics in London. Obama becoming President. Life was seemingly on our side and heading towards the progressive and positive future.

And I’m thinking on Julie’s writing from yesterday about resilience. My resilience has been tested for sure. Many of us feel that. But maybe we got too comfortable?

I’ve learned not to offer or think about silver bullets. Life doesn’t allow for that. Instead I find it more helpful to consider what I want the future to be. Build. Resolve. Progress. Advance. These are the things that make us proud to be humans.

I’ve also learned that when shocking things happen, I can rely on certain characters, whose names rhyme with Garage, Shopkins and Matson, to show me people actively perceive things very differently in life. I don’t share their stuff. They write and create videos and talk on TV to shock to create division and to foster hate. I don’t need to amplify that to others in my life. But I do read and listen to their stuff. It shakes me to my core. Not because I’m a snowflake liberal, but because I can see how their rhetoric impacts on others. 

I’m aware and I’m alert. Life in 2017 in the UK has fundamentally changed, I believe. We’re still reeling from recent terror attacks and tragedy of Grenfell Tower. These things affect us more than we realise because they become focal points of discussion, policy and decision making at the highest levels. We hardly ever see actions immediately after such events because people need to reflect, think, and determine a course of action to (hopefully) prevent these things from being reality further.

There’s no right and wrongs about being disrupted. We’re wisened enough in modern society to know that there are things you can do to be resilient. Eating well. Sleeping well. Healthy relationships. Financial stability. Physical and mental health. Philanthropy and charitable activity. Structurally we’re also far more ready for such things than we ever have been. Emergency teams doing drills. Response units controlling an event 8 minutes after being alerted. Departments investigating threats and acting in our interests. 

Be disrupted, friends. Recognise that things are in such a state of flux, we’re unlikely to know what stability looks like when it arrives. Our future generation may well look back at this time and examine and analyse the happenings of today. They’re likely to see examples of immense violence and horrors that (hu)man(s) can do. And they’re likely to see the best in people with such kindness and heart that you can only hope we all live a better tomorrow.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

