Dear Bureaucracy

Dear Bureaucracy,

I see that you’re aware of this thing called social media.

Apparently it scares you.

Apparently you don’t know how to deal with it.

There are those of us who are actively talking about things.

After all, we could talk about anything.

Some of us have passion.

Some of us fuel our creativity.

We may even have a rant.

Just not about you.

Or the organisation.

Some of us are talking about the important things.

We’re free.

Some of us collaborate.

Some of us act like a family.

We’re all connected.

We’re concerned about making things better.

We want you to know life is changing.

We want to take you with us.

It’s a journey, and we’ll help you to get there.

I know you’re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you’re afraid… you’re afraid of us. You’re afraid of change. I don’t know the future. I didn’t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it’s going to begin. I’m going to hang up this phone, and then I’m going to show these people what you don’t want them to see. I’m going to show them a world without you. A world without rules and controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible. Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

3 thoughts on “Dear Bureaucracy”

  1. Wow. First class post. The world is indeed no longer flat. Soon, very soon, the nay sayers will realise that.

    Thank you for the post, the mention (not worthy!) and the pointer to the unconference. #happydays 🙂

  2. Brilliant concept. Let’s hope Mr Bureaucracy is reading. Look forward to seeing his reply.

Say something...