When bloggers are the secret to success

I enjoy helping others. It’s been evident through a lot of activities in my life. I was involved with a voluntary group for many years, I chose to go through an education in psychology as I have an interest in how people work, what motivates them, and what I can do to be involved in that. It was during this process I realised in particular I liked working with groups of people above all else. As long as I had a clear idea, a plan, and specific outcome, I could get the group there. I look back on this reflection and see that I was practicing this strength all along. It’s not a sudden realisation, it’s one I’ve always known about.

In recent years I’ve been fortunate enough to work with a group of people who have the ability to see where there is something good and positive and are willing to encourage it. There’s something in that. There’s something in the power of a community that I want to give props to.

Last year I decided to hold a workshop on Positive Psychology. It’s a topic I knew enough about to push some of my own personal boundaries, and practice my strength all at the same time. One of the things which was key in this endeavour was raising awareness. I was starkly aware that even though I have a fair following on Twitter and LinkedIn, I would only be able to attract a certain number. I needed to reach more people.

So I got in touch with people I could rely on who write a regular blog. The response I had was generous and most kind. I was truly touched that people who had no reason to help spread the word about my personal project, were willing to help me make it happen.

David Goddin decided to host a guest series on his blog asking people about positive practices in coaching. David, thank you.

Doug Shaw opened his blog for a first come first serve approach when he wrote a post on Positively Psyched. Doug, thank you.

Rob Jones offered the same on his blog asking people to give him a funny reason why he should attend in his post on The One With the Mumbo Jumbo. Rob, thank you.

Vera Woodhead was also very kind and she wrote a post about Connectedness: relationships for a better future. Vera, thank you.

And Donald Taylor joined in by helping to answer the question Are you happy? Happiness, work and good business. Donald, thank you.

It would be remiss of me to not mention Martin Couzins and Mervyn Dinnen. They both attended the session in an official capacity as bloggers. Martin collated a round up of posts in his Round-up of coverage from Positive Psychology in Application. Merv wrote a piece on the Jobsite blog called Introduction to Positive Psychology. Martin and Mervyn, I thank you both.

There were subsequent posts written and shared about the event, and I’m grateful that people took to doing this of their own volition.

If it wasn’t evident, this post is simply to say thank you to these bloggers, and what they helped me to achieve.

Are you interested in applying your creativity in an interesting way? I’m asking people to get involved in Learning Stories to see if they can produce a story about learning which inspires someone to act. The deadline for submission is March 21st 2013. Fancy a challenge?

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

