A post about blogging as an L&Der

I’ve been writing a blog now for about 8 years. I have a modest followership (totally a word I just made up). The topics tend to focus on people and the workplace, sometimes I write about personal stuff, and sometimes I write about topics to do with politics or diversity and inclusion or my religion.

My blog is a personal space of reflection that I’m happy to share with the wider world. I don’t pretend to be a ‘thought leader’ or anything other than someone who writes about things of interest. The things I tend to write about are innocuous enough that they don’t cause widespread readership, the subject matter tends to be of interest to a small community, and I write regularly enough that people can expect a blog from me once or twice a week.

Some people are kind enough to tell me that my blog helps them. That’s pretty ace when that happens. Some people tell me that because I do this blogging thing, it puts me into a leadership space amongst L&D. That’s pretty kind too. Through the blog, I’ve been invited to attend various events and provide coverage in return for a free space. That’s fair enough in my books.

There are a fair number of people whose blogs I enjoy reading, and at the same time, regularly meet people whom I would love to hear more from. Blogging is a fairly easy game. I tend not to draft my writing – my writing is thought in action. I often know where I’m starting and then let the writing take over. Where I end up is anyone’s guess!

If you’ve attended any of my positive psychology sessions, you’ll have heard me describe blogging as my third place. What I mean when I say that is that it’s my place to escape. Which is why I do it regularly. I don’t blog for any particular reason than my own reflection and my own sharing practice. If it builds or leads or supports, that’s pretty great. There are days I’ll publish a blog post and it will get minimal reading. There are days I’ll publish and it’ll do well. I can never predict, and rarely try to.

Here’s a sense of how my blog ‘performs’.

My best year of blogging was in 2014, when I had 25,000 views. Last year, I had 16,000.

In 2016, my best read posts were:

I’ve never had a blog post with more than 280 views. My average is about 30. A good day is about 60-80.

I’ve also been experimenting with blogging on LinkedIn and on Medium. They provide a completely different audience. On LinkedIn, I can get better readership in a day. On Medium, it tends to be far less. I tend to enjoy writing on Medium where I can be a bit more creative in my writing. WordPress continues to be my go to place for blogging, though. It’s my home. And for those who are aware, I have two different WordPress blogs – this one, and the one on my consultancy website Challenging Frontiers.

Thanks for reading and for those who keep coming back to read, thank you too.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

One thought on “A post about blogging as an L&Der”

  1. Great information and good job! Where does the majority of your blog traffic come from? And how does LinkedIN blogging compare to ‘normal’/Wordpress blogging – more targeted?

Say something...