Does the L&D world really need another programme?

For those of you who’ve been following my recent activity, you’ll know that I’ve launched a programme called Modern Learning Leader. I wrote a recent post on how I got to making the event happen. The webinars start on Monday, and the Slack channel is being used. So far, it’s progressing as I thought it might.

I’ve been sharing the links, and the Eventbrite page quite openly on Twitter and on LinkedIn. As I’ve been doing that, one thing I’ve been really aware of is that this is another product / course / programme in the packed world of L&D. It’s not intended to be, but it is there.

And what I’m trying to be careful of is how I’m helping people know it’s available. It’s a modern way of looking at learning design. It’s a template for designing learning solutions using a complete range of tools at our disposal. What do I mean when I say this? I mean:

  • Ahead of the first webinar on the Human Condition, Phil Willcox has recorded a video to set people up, so that the webinar can be used to explore the topic further. He’s also getting people to do some reflective practise.
  • Martin Couzins is involved in presenting the webinar on Social Learning Technologies. He’s asking questions through Slack to help gain an understanding of people’s current knowledge base so he knows how to make his webinar more relevant for their needs.
  • The Slack channel is starting to cultivate discussion amongst the people on the programme so that they can start to do their own sense making at their pace.
  • I’m using Slack to provide updates of the programme.
  • I bought people books from a menu of options and they’re starting to share their insights with each other from their current reading, as well as other reading they’re doing.

I’ve designed the programme to be a meta-learning programme. As people experience the programme, they experience what it means to be a modern learning leader. I certainly don’t have all the answers, and have designed it so that the structure is present, and in and around the structure we create the space we need for it to be an effective programme.

I’m not intending for it to be the only way this kind of programme to be designed or delivered. Most certainly this is just one big experiment. What I’m banking on, though, is that in the doing and making it happen, I’m demonstrating how possible it is to do the many things we advocate for in this space. And, I’m using blogging to openly share that practise and my insights as I have them – because if I can do it as I’m describing, then anyone can.

I’m not entirely sure I’ll do another one. It takes a lot of personal time and energy to make these things happen. I’m really pleased with how this is taking shape and how it’s unfolding as time goes on. But once the two day workshop is done, and we’ve all learned valuable lessons together, I may not choose to do it again. Learning in progress.

If you’re an L&D vendor / supplier / consultant / practitioner in this space and want to discuss more, I’m more than happy to do that. As I’ve said time and again, this is just one way to approach designing learning solutions that are modern.

Published by

Sukh Pabial

I'm an occupational psychologist by profession and am passionate about all things learning and development, creating holistic learning solutions and using positive psychology in the workforce.

Say something...

